Log in links for this page

Enabling Legislation of the Trust

Learn about the legislation behind the Massachusetts Environmental Trust.


MET was established as a state trust by the Legislature in Chapter 236, Section 7 of the Acts of 1988 to support the waters and water-related resources of the Commonwealth. The Trust is governed by a Board of trustees appointed by the Secretary for Energy and Environmental Affairs. Grant awards are made subject to 815 CMR 2.00.

Board of Trustees

  • R.J. Lyman, Chairman
    • Member, Mintz Levin
    • Senior Advisor, ML Strategies
  • Arleen O'Donnell Vice President Eastern Research Group, Inc.
  • Dicken Crane (Windsor, MA)
    • President, Dicken Crane Logging
    • President and Manager, Holiday Farm, Inc.
  • John P. DeVillars (Boston, MA)
    • Senior Vice President, National Sales Organization TRC Companies, Inc.
  • Nathan L’Etoile
    • New England Director American Farmland Trust
  • Robert O’Leary (retired Senator)
    • Professor, Massachusetts Maritime Academy
  • Jeffrey R. Porter, Esq. (Boston, MA)
    • Environmental Law Practice Group Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.
  • Pamela P. Resor (Acton)
    • Retired-Massachusetts State Senator
    • Chair of the Committee on the Environmental, Natural Resources and Agriculture


Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.