Log in links for this page

Farm Technology Review Commission (FTRC)

Recommend options for updating farming technology for agricultural sustainability and growth.

The Farm Technology Review Commission (FTRC) is chaired by the Commissioner of Agriculture, and is comprised of state officials and farming representatives. Its role is to recommend options for updating farming technology including, ways to promote energy conservation, collaborative purchasing, purchasing and selling of energy and energy saving technology. In addition, the Commission will recommend options for agricultural sustainability and growth, and analyze regulations and statutes to ensure that they are not impediments to the adoption of farming technology.

The Commission was created as a result of the Dairy Preservation Act of 2008, ( Chapter 310, Section 11 )

An annual report is required to be submitted by the Commission to the Governor and the Legislature on the results of its investigation and study, and its recommendations. The report may include any drafts of legislation necessary to carry its recommendations into effect.

While the Department of Agricultural Resources will chair the eight member commission other state agencies that will participate include the Department of Environmental Protection; the Department of Public Health, the Department of Revenue and the Massachusetts Technology Collaborative. Three dairy farmers representing the Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers, the New England Producer Handler Association and the Massachusetts Cooperative Milk Producers Federation have also been appointed.

Each member serves for a term of 3 years. The commission shall meet quarterly or as need be if requested by 4 or more members of the commission.

Commission Members

Department of Agricultural Resources

251 Causeway St., Suite 500, Boston, MA 02114

  • Chair & Member, Commissioner
  • Designee- Gerard Kennedy

Department of Environmental Protection

1 Winter St, 3rd Floor, Boston, MA 02108

  • Member-Ken Kimmel, Commissioner
  • Designee- Jonathan Hobill

Department of Public Health

250 Washington St., Boston, MA 02111

  • Member- John Auerbach, Commissioner
  • Designee- Roy Petre

Department of Revenue

100 Cambridge St., 3rd Floor, Boston, MA 02114

  • Member- Amy Pitter, Commissioner
  • Designee- Dennis Buckley

Massachusetts Technology Collaborative 

75 North Drive, Westborough, MA 01581

  • Member- Amy Barrad, Clean Energy Center

Dairy Farmer Licensed as a Producer Dealer

  • Member- James Cooper

Dairy Farmer Representing Massachusetts Cooperative of Milk Producers Federation

  • Member- Peter Melnik

Dairy Farmer Representing the Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers

  • Member- Mark Duffy

Each member serves for a term of 3 years.

Contact   for Farm Technology Review Commission (FTRC)

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.