There have been 979 fires and explosions involving illegal fireworks in Massachusetts in the past 10 years. These incidents caused dozens of injuries to firefighters and civilians, along with millions of dollars in damages.
In addition to injuries caused by fires and explosions, Massachusetts medical facilities have treated more than two dozen people for severe burn injuries directly from fireworks in the last 10 years. These reports reflect burns covering 5% or more of the victim’s body.
All fireworks are illegal in Massachusetts for private residents. Massachusetts law prohibits the possession, use, and sale of fireworks by unlicensed individuals, even if you buy them legally in another state. Leave fireworks to the professionals and see a great professional fireworks display this year.
Professional Fireworks Displays 2023 (Updated 7/21/23)
Sparklers Are No Exception
Fireworks and sparklers are not safe, especially around children. Sparklers burn at temperatures of over 1,800° Fahrenheit. This is hotter than the melting point of aluminum! Children suffer some of the most severe burn injuries caused by sparklers.
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission said, “there were an estimated 1,600 emergency department-treated injuries associated with firecrackers and 900 with sparklers” in 2020. This accounted for almost 10% of all fireworks-related injuries that year. Of those 900 injuries from sparklers, 44% were to children under the age of 5.
In addition to causing injuries, sparklers are hot enough to cause fires -- even after they've been extinguished. In 2022, the unsafe disposal of sparklers caused a three-alarm fire in Dracut that displaced nine people.
Info for Fire Departments and Industry Professionals
Fireworks use is illegal for everyone in Massachusetts except for licensed professionals. DFS has information for the fireworks industry and for fire prevention officers who enforce fireworks laws. Fire departments ensure that professional fireworks displays are safe for spectators and shooters.
For Fire Departments Only
DFS can provide technical, compliance, and enforcement support, 24/7, especially during the July 4th week. For immediate help call:
- 508-820-2000 (outside regular business hours)
- 978-567-3375 (Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.)
- These numbers are for fire departments only. For citizen complaints about the illegal sale or use of fireworks please call your local police department at 9-1-1.
Visit the Blasting, explosives, and fireworks page for more information.
Confiscated Fireworks for Police and Fire Departments Only
To notify the State Police Bomb Squad of confiscated fireworks, fire and police departments (only) should call 978-567-3310 during business hours. For 24-hour emergencies or large quantities read this flyer on activating emergency resources. All other fireworks concerns should be addressed to your local police or fire department.