Mass. General Laws c.265 § 13

Manslaughter; punishment; business organization as defendant

Table of Contents

Updates

  • Amended by St.1971, c. 426
  • Amended by St.2010, c. 160, § 5
  • Amended by St.2018, c. 69, § 127, effective April 13, 2018

Section 13

Whoever commits manslaughter shall, except as hereinafter provided, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than twenty years or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars and imprisonment in jail or a house of correction for not more than two and one half years. Whoever commits manslaughter while violating the provisions of sections 102 to 102C, inclusive, of chapter 266 shall be imprisoned in the state prison for life or for any term of years.

Any business organization including, without limitation, a corporation, association, partnership or other legal entity that commits manslaughter shall be punished by a fine of not more than $250,000. If a business organization is found guilty under this section, the appropriate commissioner or secretary may debar the corporation under section 29F of chapter 29 for a period of not more than 10 years.

Contact

Phone

Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only

Online

Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com

Address

Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: May 22, 2019
Feedback