• This page, Nationwide Multi-State Licensing System & Registry overview, is   offered by
  • Division of Banks

Nationwide Multi-State Licensing System & Registry overview

The Division of Banks is part of the Nationwide Multi-State Licensing System & Registry (NMLS). NMLS is a collaborative effort among state regulators to bring greater efficiencies and accountability to the supervision of the financial services industries.

NMLS is a secured, web-based system that allows state licensees, companies, branches, and mortgage loan originators, to apply for, amend, update or renew licenses online in Massachusetts. Licensees in other participating states may also use these services.

Each licensed company and individual has a single record in NMLS, regardless of the number of licenses held or the number of states in which they operate. Each licensed company or individual has access to their record in the system through a secure website. This allows them to conveniently view license information, apply for new licenses, amend existing licenses, and renew or surrender licenses throughout the year.

Licensees have access to the system 362 days a year, 7 days a week with operational assistance available through a national call center.

Access NMLS

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.