Raccoon and opossum may be hunted 24 hours per day. Exception: WMAs stocked with pheasant or quail during the pheasant or quail season, the hunting hours for raccoon and opossum are from 9 p.m. – 3 a.m.
To hunt raccoon and opossum in Massachusetts you must have a license, which you can buy through MassFishHunt.
- Hunting or sporting license
- Small game or big game license
Raccoon Individual bag limit: 3 raccoons (Between sunset of one day and sunset of the following day.)
Raccoon Group bag limit (2 or more hunters): 6 raccoons (Between sunset of one day and sunset of the following day.)
Opossum: No bag limit.
All Wildlife Management Zones statewide.
Shotguns: Only shot size up to #1 birdshot.
Archery: Archery equipment is legal, with no minimum pull. Crossbows may only be used by permit. Poisoned arrows, explosive tips, and bows drawn by mechanical means are prohibited.
Rifles and handguns:
- Daytime hunting: During the period from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset there are no restrictions on size or caliber of rifles or handguns.
- Nighttime hunting: During the period from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, rifles are restricted to those chambered not larger than .22 long rifle and handguns are restricted to those chambered not larger than .38 caliber.
Muzzleloaders: Smooth bore muzzleloaders: Only shot size up to #1 birdshot. Rifled bore muzzleloaders: no restrictions on caliber size.
- Manual Calls
- Electronic Calls
- Artificial light
- Wanton waste: It is unlawful for hunters to intentionally or knowingly leave a wounded or dead game animal in the field or the forest without making a reasonable effort to retrieve and use it. Each retrieved animal shall be retained or transferred to another until processed or used for food, pelt, feathers, or taxidermy. This does not apply to animals unfit for consumption or use—animals and their parts that are damaged, destroyed, decayed, rotting, diseased, or infected.
Tagging, transporting, and reporting requirements
You do not have to report harvest for raccoon or opossum.
Hunting season framework
October 1 to the last day of January of the following year. Hunting is prohibited on Sundays. Raccoon and opossum hunting is closed during the shotgun deer season.
Raccoon and opossum hunting regulations
This page is to be used as a reference, it is not the entire law and is subject to change. You can refer to the hunting and trapping of certain mammals regulations in the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, 321 CMR 3.02(5) and to several provisions of the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 131 for more information about raccoon and opossum hunting.