offered by

Shellfish area biologist staff directory

Below are the towns/cities covered by each biologist and their specialty.

Table of Contents

South Shore Shellfish Program

Cohasset to Westport, including Cape Cod and the Islands.

 

Mike Hickey, Statewide Shellfish Program Manager

Tel: (508) 742-9768

Email: Michael.hickey@mass.gov

 

Thomas Shields, South Shore Regional Shellfish Supervisor & John T. Hughes Hatchery Manager

Tel: (508) 742-9767

Email: Thomas.shields@mass.gov

 

Gregory Sawyer, Senior Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Fall River, Freetown, Mattapoisett, Somerset, Swansea, Plymouth, Marion, Wareham, Westport, and northern section of Bourne

Specialty: Contaminated Shellfish Relays

Tel: (508) 742-9769

Email: Gregory.sawyer@mass.gov

 

Neil Churchill, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Barnstable, Dartmouth, Fairhaven, Oak Bluffs, Edgartown, New Bedford, Marshfield, Sandwich, and southern section of Scituate

Specialty: Oil Spills, Bacteriological Lab Backup Support  

Tel: (508) 742-9763

Email: Neil.churchill@mass.gov

 

John Mendes, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Gosnold, Falmouth, Kingston, Duxbury, Mashpee, Middle of Cape Cod Bay, and southern section of Bourne

Specialty: Shellfish Task Force and Posting of Closure Signs on South Shore

Tel: (508) 742-9764

Email: John.mendes@mass.gov

 

Terry O’Neil, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Brewster, Eastham, Chatham, Dennis, Harwich, Orleans, Cohasset, Yarmouth, and northern section of Scituate

Specialty: Phytoplankton Monitoring, PSP Sample Scheduling, Bacteriological Lab Backup

Tel: (508) 742-9765

Email: Terry.oneil@mass.gov

 

Christopher Schillaci, DMF Aquaculture Specialist and Vibrio Coordinator

Tel: (508) 742-9760

Email: christoper.schillaci@mass.gov

 

Christian Petitpas, Assistant Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Nantucket, Tisbury, West Tisbury, Aquinnah, Chilmark, Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown, Middle of Nantucket Sound

Specialty: Bacteriological Lab Backup Support, HAB Specialist

Tel: (508) 742-9766

Email: Christian.petitpas@mass.gov

 

Gabriel Lundgren, Assistant Shellfish Biologist

Specialty: Aquaculture permitting, surveying and field sampling support

Tel: (508) 742-9761

Email: Gabe.lundgren@mass.gov

 

Susan Boehler, Bacteriology Laboratory Supervisor 

Tel: (508) 742-9759

Email: Susan.boehler@mass.gov

North Shore Shellfish Program

Hull to Salisbury including greater Boston Harbor

 

Jeff Kennedy, North Shore Regional Shellfish Supervisor & Newburyport Shellfish Purification Plant Manager

Tel: (978) 282-0308 x165

Email: Jeff.kennedy@mass.gov

 

Greg Bettencourt, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Boston, Chelsea, Marblehead, Nahant, Newbury, Newburyport, Quincy, Salisbury, Swampscott, Winthrop

Specialty: Database Administrator and GIS Mapping

Tel: (978) 282-0308 x161

Email: Greg.bettencourt@mass.gov

 

Melissa Campbell, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Gloucester

Specialty: Phytoplankton Monitoring and Newburyport Laboratory Support

Tel: (978) 282-0308 x131

Email: Melissa.campbell@mass.gov

 

Ryan Joyce, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Essex, Hingham, Hull, Ipswich, Lynn, Revere, Saugus

Tel: (979) 282-0308 x171

Email: Ryan.joyce@mass.gov

 

Devon Winkler, Shellfish Area Biologist

Areas: Beverly, Braintree, Gloucester, Ipswich, Manchester, Newbury, Rockport, Rowley, Salem, Weymouth

Specialty: Hydrographic Studies

Tel: (979) 282-0308 x169

Email: Devon.winkler@mass.gov

 

Florence Cenci, Laboratory Supervisor

Specialty: Bacteriology and Marine Biotoxins

Tel: (979) 282-0308 x135

Email: Florence.cenci@mass.gov

Newburyport Shellfish Purification Plant

Diane Regan, Laboratory Supervisor

Specialty: Shellfish Bacteriology and Vibrio Analysis

Tel: (978) 465-3553 x312

Email: Diane.regan@mass.gov

 

Kevin Magowan, Depuration Coordinator

Tel: (978) 465-3553 x311

Email: Kevin.magowan@mass.gov

Feedback