This page, Water Resources Contacts, is offered by

Water Resources Contacts

MassDEP's Bureau of Water Resources has staff in all four regions as well as Boston. Find contact information here for MassDEP's water programs around the state.

Table of Contents

Frequently Requested Numbers

Program Telephone
Boston Office Fax 617-292-5696
Innovative/Alternative Technology 617-556-1136
Waterways/Chapter 91 Licensing 617-292-5615
Waterways/Chapter 91 Research 617-292-5929
Wetlands Mapping 617-556-1163

Enforcement Coordinator

Susan.Figelman@mass.gov - 617-556-1032

Drinking Water

Program Director email: program.director-dwp@mass.gov

Regional Contacts
Region Name Telephone
Northeast Amy.Lachance@mass.gov
James.Persky@mass.gov
Melissa.Privetera@mass.gov
Nicholas.Zessoules@mass.gov
978-694-3260
978-694-3227
978-694-3403
978-694-3230
Southeast Richard.Rondeau@mass.gov
Charles.Shurtleff@mass.gov
508-946-2816
508-946-2879
Central Robert.Bostwick@mass.gov
Paula.Caron@mass.gov
Andrea.Lemerise@mass.gov
Kelly.Momberger@mass.gov
508-849-4036
508-767-2719
508-767-2723
508-767-4023
Western Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov
Douglas.Paine@mass.gov
413-755-2148
413-755-2281

Program Areas

Program Location Contact Telephone
Consumer Confidence Reports Boston Marie.Tennant@mass.gov 617-292-5885
  NERO Amy.Lachance@mass.gov 978-694-3260
  SERO Courtland.Ridings@mass.gov 508-946-2722
  CERO Robert.Bostwick@mass.gov 508-849-4036
  WERO Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov 413-755-2148
Cross Connection Control Boston Otavio.Paula-Santos@mass.gov 617-556-1085
Emergency Response CERO Kristin.Divris@mass.gov 508-849-4028
Groundwater Rule Boston Frank.R.Niles@mass.gov 617-574-6871
  NERO William.Zahoruiko@mass.gov 978-694-3232
  SERO Scott.Sayers@mass.gov 508-946-2780
  CERO Kelly.Momberger@mass.gov 508-849-4023
  WERO Hem.Pokharel@mass.gov 413-755-2271
Groundwater Supply Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@mass.gov 617-556-1070
Operator Certification Boston Michael.Maynard@mass.gov 508-767-2735
Private Wells Arsenic & Uranium Information Boston Joseph.Cerutti@mass.gov 617-292-5859
    Stephen.Hallem@mass.gov 617-292-5681
Public Notification Boston Marie.Tennant@mass.gov 617-292-5885
Safe Drinking Water Act Assessment Fees Boston Kathleen.Romero@mass.gov 617-292-5727
Small System Assistance, Viability CERO Michael.Maynard@mass.gov 508-767-2735
Source Water Protection Boston Kathleen.Romero@mass.gov 617-292-5727
Technical Services/Hydrogeologic Reviews/Source Approval Boston Bruce.Bouck@mass.gov 617-556-1055
Underground Injection Control Boston Joseph.Cerutti@mass.gov 617-292-5859
Water Quality Boston Damon.Guterman@mass.gov 617-574-6811
Wellhead Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@mass.gov 617-556-1070
Well Drillers Boston Stephen.Hallem@mass.gov 617-292-5681

Additional Resources

Groundwater

Location Name Phone
Boston Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029
Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
Western Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218

Industrial Wastewater

Program Contact Telephone
Pretreatment and MWRA Sewer Discharges Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Holding Tanks Olusegun.Onatunde@mass.gov 617-556-1168
Surface Water Susannah.King@mass.gov 617-556-1147
Groundwater Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029
Regional Contacts
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Martha.Bolis@mass.gov 978-694-3290
Central Giles.Steele-Perkins@mass.gov 508-767-2767
Southeast Robert.Greene@mass.gov 508-946-2826
Western John.Bourcier@mass.gov 413-755-2112

Massachusetts Estuaries Project

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP-Southeast Brian.Dudley@mass.gov 508-946-2814
Cape Cod Commission Tim.Pasakarnis@capecodcommission.org 508-744-1214

State Revolving Funds

Program Contact Telephone
Division Director Maria.Pinaud@mass.gov 617-292-5808
Program Manager Ashraf.Gabour@mass.gov 617-556-1076
SRF, Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
SRF, Southeast Region David.Johnston@mass.gov 508-946-2708
SRF, Central Region Michele.Higgins@mass.gov 617-292-5658
SRF, Western Region Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov 413-755-2148
Clean Water Act s.104(b)(3) and s.604a(b) Matthew.Reardon@mass.gov 508-849-4002
Clean Water Act s.319(h) Malcolm.Harper@mass.gov 508-767-2795

Residuals

Location Contact Telephone
Statewide Coordinator Jennifer.Wood@mass.gov 617-654-6536
Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
Western Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218

Sewers

Combined Sewer Overflows
Location Contact Telephone
Boston & Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Region David.Burns@mass.gov 508-946-2738
Central Region Robert.Kimball@mass.gov 508-767-2722
Western Region Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218
Sanitary Sewers
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Region Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central Region Robert.Kimball@mass.gov 508-767-2722
Western Region Brian.D.Harrington@mass.gov 413-755-2218

Stormwater and MS4

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP    
Statewide Stormwater Coordinator Laura.Schifman@mass.gov 617-556-1157
Wetland Regional Coordinator Thomas.Maguire@mass.gov 617-292-5602
Wetland Stormwater Alice.Smith@mass.gov 617-292-5854
Central Region Denise.Child@mass.gov  
Northeast Region Wetlands Helpline 978-694-3405
Southeast Region David.Burns@mass.gov 508-946-2738
Western Region David.Cameron@mass.gov 413-755-2138
EPA Region I    
Regional Coordinator Thelma Murphy 617-918-1615
MS4 Program Newton Tedder 617-918-1038
EPA Industrial/Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP) David J. Gray 617-918-1577
EPA Construction General Permit (CGP) Suzanne Warner 617-918-1383

Surface Water Discharge Permitting (NPDES)

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Individual NPDES Permits statewide Susannah.King@mass.gov 617-556-1147
General NPDES Permits statewide Jennifer.Wood@mass.gov 617-654-6536
NPDES stormwater permits (not permits required under the Wetlands Protection Act) statewide Laura.Schifman@mass.gov 617-556-1157
Regional NPDES Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
  Western Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218
EPA NPDES Contacts      
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual municipal NPDES permits   Matt Hoagland 617-918-1361
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual industrial NPDES permits   Damien Houlihan 617-918-1586
Administrative Issues   Shelley Puleo 617-918-1545
Discharge Monitoring Reports   Diane Boisclair 617-918-1762

Title 5 / Septic Systems

General Wastewater or Title 5 Questions: 617-292-5673

Technical questions relating to Title 5 should be addressed to your local Board of Health.

To find an approved Soil Evaluator or System Inspector, go to the New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission (NEIWPCC) website.

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Community & Homeowner Financing Metro/Northeast Nihar.Mohanty@mass.gov 978-694-3237
  Southeast Service Center 508-946-2714
  Central Joanne.Kasper-Dunne@mass.gov 508-767-2763
  Western Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218
Soil Evaluators & Septic System Inspectors Classes & Exams New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929
  Corrections to DEP lists and questions about DEP certification Linda.Barba@mass.gov 617-556-1150
Innovative and Alternative (I/A) Technology statewide Olusegun.Onatunde@mass.gov 617-556-1168

Additional Resources

Wastewater

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Reclaimed Water statewide Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029
Wastewater Treatment Operators statewide John.J.Murphy@mass.gov 617-292-5867
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
  Western Matthew.Sokop@mass.gov 413-755-2218
  statewide New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929

Additional Resources

Water Management Act

Location Contact Telephone
Boston, Northeast, Southeast Duane.Levangie@mass.gov 617-292-5706
Southeast (cranberry issues) James.M.Mclaughlin@mass.gov 508-946-2805
Central Susan.Connors@mass.gov 508-767-2701
Western Kimberly.Longridge@mass.gov 413-755-2215

Watershed Management

Program Director: Lealdon.Langley@mass.gov, 617-574-6882

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Cleanup Plans (TMDLs) Worcester Barbara.Kickham@mass.gov 508-767-2724
Nonpoint Source Management Worcester Matthew.Reardon@mass.gov 508-849-4002
Surface Water Quality Monitoring Worcester Arthur.Johnson@mass.gov 508-767-2873
Surface Water Quality Standards Worcester Richard.Carey@mass.gov 508-767-2894
Water Quality Assessment & Data Management Worcester Richard.F.Chase@mass.gov 508-767-2859
Watershed Planning Program Worcester Laura.Blake@mass.gov 508-767-2876
WPP Fax Worcester   508-791-4131

Waterways/Chapter 91

General Email: dep.waterways@mass.gov

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Statewide      
Program Chief   Daniel.Padien@mass.gov 617-292-5615
Assistant Director   Christine.Hopps@mass.gov 617-348-4084
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast/Central dep.waterways@mass.gov 617-292-5929
  Southeast David.Hill@mass.gov 508-946-2730
  Western David.Cameron@mass.gov 413-755-2138
Project-Specific Contacts      
  Southeast   508-946-2800
  Northeast/Central dep.waterways@mass.gov 617-292-5929
  Western   413-784-1100

Waterways-401 Water Quality Certification

Location Contact Telephone
statewide David.W.Wong@mass.gov 617-292-5893
statewide Derek.Standish@mass.gov 617-654-6611

Wetlands

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Program Chief statewide Lisa.Rhodes@mass.gov 617-292-5512
Regional Section Chiefs      
  Northeast Rachel.Freed@mass.gov 978-694-3258
  Southeast David.Johnston@mass.gov 508-946-2708
  Central Denise.Child@mass.gov 508-767-2846
  Western Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov 413-755-2418
General Wetlands Questions      
  Boston Nancy.Lin@mass.gov 617-556-1109
  Central Kimberly.Roth@mass.gov 508-767-2711
  Northeast Alicia.Geilen@mass.gov 978-694-3234
  Southeast Andrew.Poyant@mass.gov 508-946-2845
  Western Mark.Stinson@mass.gov 413-755-2257

Other State and Federal Contacts

Agency Telephone
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Certified Operators 617-727-3939
Massachusetts Plumbing Board 617-727-9952
Mass Rural Water Association 866-451-8099
Resources for Communities and People (RCAP) 508-297-5300
National Drinking Water Clearinghouse 800-624-8301
AWWA Small System Operational Support 800-366-0107
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Bottled Water 617-983-6747
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Waterborne Diseases 617-983-6800
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Fluoride 617-624-5941
Massachusetts Water Resources Authority 617-242-7110
EPA New England - within NE 888-372-7341
EPA New England - outside NE 617-918-1111
Feedback