Wind Energy Model Zoning By-Law

The Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources and Executive Office of Environmental Affairs has developed a model bylaw to help cities and towns establish reasonable zoning standards for wind power development, and to facilitate projects.

By Law Information

The Conditional Use Wind Model Zoning Bylaw applies to utility-scale wind facilities, on-site wind facilities and small wind energy systems. It also addresses building integrated wind systems and physical modifications that alter the type, configuration, or size of existing wind facilities or other equipment.

Municipalities interested in becoming a Green Community can also view an As-of-Right Wind Model Zoning Bylaw.

Cities and Towns in Massachusetts with Wind Bylaws

  • Bourne
  • Brewster
  • Carver
  • Charlton
  • Cohasset
  • Dartmouth (as-of-right)
  • Dennis
  • Douglas
  • Dunstable
  • Duxbury
  • Edgartown
  • Fairhaven
  • Falmouth
  • Freetown
  • Gloucester
  • Hamilton
  • Harwich
  • Kingston (as-of-right)
  • Manchester-by-the-Sea
  • Marion
  • Marshfield
  • Mashpee
  • Mattapoisett
  • Millbury
  • Milton (as-of-right)
  • Nantucket
  • North Reading
  • Oak Bluffs
  • Orleans
  • Sandwich
  • Savoy
  • Topsfield
  • Wareham
  • Wenham (as-of-right)
  • Westport

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.