Log in links for this page

This page, Civil Service Fire Departments, is part of
This page, Civil Service Fire Departments, is offered by

Civil Service Fire Departments

Listing of fire departments covered by civil service residency and age requirements.

Civil Service Law Chapter 31, section 58, permits cities and towns to ask that residents be placed on entry-level firefighter lists before non-residents.  A resident is a person who has lived in the same city or town for the full year before the date of the examination.  Cities and towns may opt for other residency requirements.  Please check with the specific city or town.

Municipalities in bold italic are under the Federal Consent Decree.

No Upper Age Limit

Abington, Agawam, Amesbury, Athol, Attleboro, Beverly, Billerica, Brockton, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Chicopee, Clinton, Cohasset, Danvers, Everett, Fairhaven, Fall River, Falmouth, Framingham, Gardner, Greenfield, Hanover, Holyoke, Hopedale, Hull, Lawrence, Lowell, Ludlow, Lynn, Marshfield, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Nahant, Needham, New Bedford, Newburyport, North Adams, North Reading, Peabody, Pittsfield, Quincy, Reading, Revere, Rockland, Salem, Saugus, Scituate, Somerville, Springfield, Stoughton, Tewksbury, Wakefield, Waltham, Whitman, Winthrop, Woburn

Upper Age Limit: 31 years old or younger as of the last date to apply for examination

Arlington, Bedford, Chelmsford, Dracut, Easthampton, Easton, Hingham, Hudson, Ipswich, Malden, Marblehead, Methuen, Milford, North Andover, Norton, Stoneham, Ware, Watertown, West Springfield, Westfield, Wilmington

Upper Age Limit: 31 years old or younger as of the original examination date

However, if you are a qualified veteran either still in or released from the military, you may add up to a maximum of four years of service time to your age but must have not yet reached your 36th birthday as of the date of the exam.

Andover, Belmont, Boston, Bourne, Burlington, Canton, Dedham, Fitchburg, Gloucester, Haverhill, Holbrook, Leominster, Natick, Newton, North Attleboro, Norwood, Plymouth, Randolph, Shrewsbury, Swampscott, Taunton, Weymouth, West Springfield ,Winchester, Worcester, Wrentham

No longer under Civil Service

AcushnetFranklin, Mansfield, Marlborough, Plainville, Wellesley, Westwood

For more information on becoming a fire fighter in cities and town not covered by Civil Service, please contact those fire departments directly or visit Department of Fire Service.