Public health shared services

Resources for cross-jurisdictional sharing of public health services and a description of the public health districts in Massachusetts

Massachusetts Public Health Excellence Grant Program

The Office of Local and Regional Health promotes and supports the development of inter-municipal shared service agreements (cross-jurisdictional sharing) that contribute to improvements in local public health capacity. By pooling resources, functions, and expertise, a consortium of cities and towns, especially those that are smaller or less prosperous, can improve compliance with their statutory and regulatory mandates and expand the public health protections and services they offer residents.

OLRH staff offers technical assistance to local public health officials in Massachusetts who are interested in exploring or currently participating in cross-jurisdictional sharing.

The following resources provide helpful information for exploring cross-jurisdictional sharing:

Public health districts and shared services in Massachusetts

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health currently funds 41 grantees through the Public Health Excellence for Shared Services program. Listed below are the grantees, which include 268 municipalities (76% of municipalities statewide).

Lead Municipality Participating Municipalities
Abington Abington, Avon, Brockton, Stoughton, Whitman
Berkshire Regional Planning Commission Adams, Alford, Becket, Cheshire, Clarksburg, Dalton, Egremont, Florida, Great Barrington, Hancock, Lanesborough, Mount Washington, New Ashford, New Marlborough, North Adams, Peru, Pittsfield, Richmond, Sandisfield, Savoy, Sheffield, Washington, West Stockbridge, Williamstown, and Windsor
Central Mass Regional Planning Commission Blackstone, Douglas, Hopedale, Mendon, Millville, Northbridge, Upton, and Uxbridge
Central Mass Regional Planning Commission Auburn, Brimfield, Dudley, Oxford, Southbridge, and Webster
Cohasset Cohasset, Hingham, Hull
Fall River Fall River, Seekonk, Swansee
Fitchburg Athol, Clinton, Fitchburg, Gardner, Hubbardston, Leominster, Phillipston, Princeton, Royalston, Sterling, Templeton, Westminster, Winchendon
Foothills Health District Goshen, Westhampton, Whately, and Williamsburg
Foxborough Easton, Foxborough, Mansfield, Norton, Plainville, and Sharon
Franklin Regional Council of Governments Ashfield, Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Erving, Gill, Hawley, Heath, Leyden, Monroe, Northfield, Rowe, and Shelburne
Halifax Bridgewater, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Middleborough, Raynham, West Bridgewater
Hamilton Essex, Hamilton, Rockport, and Wenham
Hudson Ashland, Framingham, Hopkinton, Hudson, Maynard, Milford, Millis, and Natick
Kingston Carver, Kingston, Plymouth, Plympton, Wareham
Leicester Barre, Hardwick, Holden, Leicester, New Braintree, and North Brookfield, Brookfield
Longmeadow Hampden, Longmeadow, Monson, and Wilbraham
Methuen Dracut, Lawrence, and Methuen
Metropolitan Area Planning Council Chelsea, Revere, and Winthrop
Nantucket Aquinnah, Chilmark, Edgartown, Gosnold, Nantucket, Oak Bluffs, Tisbury, and West Tisbury
Nashoba Ashburnham, Ashby, Ayer, Berlin, Bolton, Boxborough, Dunstable, Groton, Harvard, Lancaster, Littleton, Lunenburg, Pepperell, Shirley, Stow, and Townsend
Needham Dover, Medfield, Needham
New Bedford Acushnet, Fairhaven, New Bedford
North Attleborough Attleborough, Berkley, Dighton, North Attleborough, Rehoboth, Taunton
Northampton Amherst, Belchertown, Chester, Chesterfield, Cummington, Easthampton, Goshen, Granby, Hadley, Hatfield, Huntington, Middlefield, Northampton, Pelham, Plainfield, Southampton, Ware, and Worthington
Northborough Boylston, Northborough, Southborough, and Westborough
Norwood Canton, Dedham, Milton, Needham, Norwood, Walpole, Wellesley, and Westwood
Quabbin Health District Belchertown, Pelham, and Ware
Randolph Braintree, Holbrook, Quincy, Randolph, Weymouth
Salem Beverly, Danvers, Lynn, Marblehead, Nahant, Peabody, Salem, and Swampscott
Somerville Arlington, Medford, Somerville
South Hadley Chicopee, Holyoke, South Hadley
Southwick Blandford, Granville, Montgomery, Russell, Southwick, Tolland
Sudbury Bedford, Concord, Carlisle, Lincoln, Sudbury, Wayland, and Weston
Topsfield Boxford, Middleton, and Topsfield
Tri-Town Health District (Lee) Alford, Great Barrington, Lee, Lenox, Monterey, Mount Washington, New Marlborough, Otis, Sheffield, and Stockbridge
Tyngsborough Billerica, Chelmsford, Tewksbury, and Tyngsborough
Wakefield Malden, Medford, Melrose, Stoneham, Wakefield, Winchester
Westford Acton, Dracut, Lowell, and Westford
Worcester Grafton, Millbury, Shrewsbury, West Boylston, and Worcester
Wrentham Franklin, Norfolk, and Wrentham

Help Us Improve with your feedback