Log in links for this page

About the Supreme Judicial Court

The Supreme Judicial Court (SJC) is the Commonwealth's highest appellate court.

The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court consists of a Chief Justice and six Associate Justices appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Governor's Council. The seven Justices hear appeals on a broad range of criminal and civil cases from September through May. Single Justice sessions are held each week throughout the year for certain motions pertaining to cases on trial or on appeal, bail reviews, bar discipline proceedings, petitions for admission to the bar, and a variety of other statutory proceedings. The Associate Justices sit as Single Justices each month on a rotation schedule.


Related Services

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.