Apply for an Alcoholic Beverages Agent Broker License (ABCC)

A license to solicit orders from licensed wholesalers on behalf of licensed suppliers.
Once an application is submitted via our eLicensing system, the typical turnaround time is 4 – 6 weeks.

Ivy Maiorino

The Details

What you need

To apply for a Broker permit pursuant to M.G.L. c. 138, § 18A you will need electronic copies of the documents listed below.

If entity applying is a business:

  • Vote of the Corporate Board or LLC is required authorizing any transaction you are applying for.
  • Articles of Organization, Partnership Agreement, Bankruptcy Documents, Estate Documents, Trust Documents or Business Certificate, are required depending on your corporate structure.

If you are applying as an individual, the application will require:

  • Proof of Massachusetts Residency, any one of the following is acceptable: Massachusetts Driver's License, Massachusetts ID Card, Massachusetts Voter Registration, or a copy of your W-2
  • Certificate of Appointment to Act as an Agent, Broker or Solicitor which must be completed by an authorized signatory of the entity applying for the license.

Fees

Name Fee Unit
First Permit $5,000 each
Second Permit $500 each
Third Permit $500 each
Fourth Permit $500 each
Fifth Permit $0 each

How to apply

To apply for this license, please create an account on our eLicensing and ePermitting Portal.

Please review the information below:

Technical Requirements:

Below is the list of supported browser versions that provide the best user experience for the online application:

  • Microsoft Windows Internet Explorer 10

  • Microsoft Windows Internet Explorer 11

  • Firefox 29

  • Safari 6

  • Google Chrome 34

  • Opera 21

Although you may find that your current version also works, it may not support all functions.

To use the system you must first create a user name and password. User guides on this topic and other helpful information about the eLicensing and ePermitting Portal can be found here.

For technical assistance:
Please call the ePLACE Help Desk Team at (844) 733-7522 between the hours of 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Friday, with the exception of all Commonwealth and Federal observed holidays.

Next steps

Processing Time

Please allow 4-6 weeks for the application to be processed. If there is any information missing, a licensing staff member or investigator will reach out to you directly.

If you would like to check on the status of your application, please contact the following licensing staff member:

Ivy Maiorino
Email:
imaiorino@tre.state.ma.us
Phone: 617-727-3040 x 749
 

More info

  • A broker may not buy or sell alcoholic beverages and may not bring alcoholic beverages into Massachusetts.
  • Only the following licensees are eligible to hold a Broker permit: Certificate of Compliance holder, Wholesaler, Farmer Brewery, Farmer Winery, Farmer Distillery.
  • For each company being represented, an additional fee is required. See the fee table for details.

To generate a list of the most current Certificate of Compliance holders or Wholesalers, please use our General Search Function provided on our eLicensing and ePermitting portal.

Downloads

Contact

Address

239 Causeway Street, 1st Floor, Boston, MA 02114

Phone

Open M-F 9am-5pm

Feedback

Tell us what you think