More about:

First-time boat registration

Here's how to register your boat.

Boat, ATV, and Snowmobile Registration Bureau

The Details of First-time boat registration

What you need for First-time boat registration

Documents Required

  • Bill of Sale - Name, address and signature of the seller must be on the bill of sale.
    • If you purchased your boat from a business, the bill of sale must be written up on company letterhead.
  • If your boat is purchased brand new from a  dealer, department store, or internet sale, you will need to provide the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin.
  • Proof of sales tax paid (Sales tax form Form ST-6 or Form ST-6E).  You can pay your sales tax online and print out your receipt.
  • Pencil tracing of the hull ID number (serial number). 
    • If your boat was manufactured prior to 1972, or does not have a proper Coast Guard conforming 12 character hull ID number, your boat may require a boat inspection.  If you have any questions prior to submitting your paperwork, please call us.
  • Completed Registration and Titling Application.
  • Required fees - check or money order only, no cash, debit or credit cards accepted. Checks are payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

 

  • For Boats 14 feet and over - Title from the seller signed over to the new buyer.  If the boat is documented with the U.S. Coast Guard, you will need to provide a Deletion Letter. You can contact the Coast Guard at 1 (800) 799-8362

Please note:

  1. When a boat is purchased from a private party sale or dealer from a non-title state, the seller's previous boat registration is required in lieu of a title.
  2. If you have purchased a boat from Rhode Island, the seller's signature on the Rhode Island title must be notarized.
  3. If you are a Commercial Fisherman and registering your vessel strictly for commercial fishing, you must submit a copy of your commercial fishing license.
  4. If your boat requires a state assigned HIN (Hull ID serial number) at the time of registration, you must show us proof of the HIN placement on your boat before you will receive your registration card and decal.
  5. Sales tax is due on the 20th day of the month following the date of purchase. (For example, if you purchase a boat on Jan. 15, sales tax is due on Feb. 20.) Massachusetts sales tax is 6.25% of the total purchase price. If sales tax is late, you will be subject to interest and penalties. Questions on sales tax should be directed to the Department of Revenue at 1 (800) 392-6089.

 

    Fees for First-time boat registration

    Name Fee Unit
    Boats under 16 feet $44 2 years
    Boat length 16 feet to less than 26 feet $66 2 years
    Boat length 26 feet to less than 40 feet $88 2 years
    Boat length 40 feet and greater $110 2 years
    Boat Title $27.50 Valid until boat is sold, transferred or destroyed
    Duplicate Title $16.50 Valid until boat is sold, transferred or destroyed
    Add a Lien Holder $16.50 each

    How to register First-time boat registration

    Visit one of our 5 convenient registration offices.  Make sure to bring all of the required documents and a check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

    Mail in your required documents to one of our registration offices along with a check for the appropriate fee made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

     

    More info about First-time boat registration

     

      Downloads for First-time boat registration

      Contact for First-time boat registration

      Address
      Boston Registration Office
      251 Causeway Street, Suite 101, Boston, MA 02114
      Fall River Registration Office
      218 South Main Street, 3rd Floor, Fall River, MA 02721
      Hyannis Registration Office
      60 Perseverance Way, Hyannis, MA 02601
      Springfield Registration Office
      1 Federal Street, Building 101, Springfield, MA 01105
      Worcester Registration Office
      67 Millbrook Street, Suite 350, 3rd Floor, Worcester, MA 01606
      Fax
      Boston Registration Office Fax (617) 626-1630
      Fall River Registration Office (508) 679-0066
      Hyannis Registration Fax (508) 771-2334
      Springfield Registration Fax (413) 733-2154
      Worcester Registration Fax (508) 752-6132

      Feedback

      Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
      We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
      We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

      If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

      Tell us what you think