Repay unemployment benefit debt
Contact for Repay unemployment benefit debt
DUA Benefits Collection Department
The Details of Repay unemployment benefit debt
What you need for Repay unemployment benefit debt
To repay your overpayment electronically, you will need:
- The login information for your UI Online account
- Credit card details, or the routing and transit number of your checking/savings account
- Your claimant ID – if paying through your bank’s Bill Pay
To repay your overpayment by mail, you will need:
- A check or money order, made payable to the Department of Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
- Your claimant ID
- The repayment voucher included with your Monthly Statement of Account
Fees for Repay unemployment benefit debt
Overpayments for which you were determined to be at fault accrue interest. The annual interest rate is 12% of the unpaid principal per year and begins accruing 30 days after the Notice of Determination is issued.
Overpayments that were determined to be at fault may be assessed a one-time 15% penalty. In some cases, you may also be required to serve penalty weeks for each week you were at fault for being overpaid benefits.
- Your penalty weeks will begin the next time you file a claim or request weekly benefits and are determined eligible
- Regardless of the penalty, you should continue to request weekly benefits for each week that you are unemployed in order to successfully serve the penalty weeks
- During the penalty week period, you will be disqualified from receiving benefit payments
- You will not receive any future benefits until all penalty weeks are served
How to pay Repay unemployment benefit debt
Credit card payments and electronic payments from your checking or savings account can be made using your UI Online account.
- Log in to your UI Online account.
- From your UI Online homepage, click Manage debt.
- Click Make a payment.
- Proceed with making an electronic payment using either your credit card or your checking/savings account.
If paying through your bank’s Bill Pay, you must include your claimant ID to ensure the payment is processed to your account.
Payments by mail can be made by check or money order only. Do not send cash.
- Write a check or money order (payable to DUA) for the exact amount owed. Do not pay more.
- Write your Claimant ID on the check or money order.
- Include the repayment voucher on your Monthly Statement of Account with your payment.
- Send your payment to the following address:
Department of Unemployment Assistance
PO Box 9699
Boston, MA 02114
More info about Repay unemployment benefit debt
Appealing an overpayment
If you believe that you were not overpaid, or that the amount of the overpayment is incorrect, you can file an appeal within 10 days of the Notice of Determination being issued. To file an appeal, you must follow the instructions included with the determination notice.
If you cannot repay the overpayment in full, you may request a repayment plan or complete a “Request for Waiver of Overpayment” by logging in to your UI Online account or by calling the DUA Benefits Collection Department at (617) 626-6300.
A Request for Waiver of Overpayment does not replace the appeals process. You must still file an appeal if you disagree with the Notice of Determination before submitting a request for waiver.
If you fail to repay your overpayment, DUA may intercept your Massachusetts state and federal income tax refund. Your weekly unemployment benefits paid by Massachusetts or any other state may be reduced to repay your overpayment.