Report elder abuse online
The Details of Report elder abuse online
What you need for Report elder abuse online
Things to consider before you use the online system
Do not use the online system if:
- This is an emergency or life-threatening situation that must be dealt with immediately. Call 911 or make a verbal report to the Massachusetts Elder Abuse Hotline at (800) 922-2275.
- You want to report anonymously, as filing online requires you submit your name.
- You do not have the name and address of the victim. The online reporting system will not allow you to file such reports.
If any of these situations apply you must make a verbal report to the Massachusetts Elder Abuse Hotline at (800) 922-2275.
How to report Report elder abuse online
Additional filing instructions:
- If you file online you DO NOT need to make a verbal report over the phone.
- If you are a mandated reporter and file online you DO NOT need to fax a written report to the local protective service agency.
- Online reports will be treated the same as verbal reports over the phone and referred to the local Protective Service agency.
*Please note: If you include your email address you will receive an email confirmation for your records after the report is submitted.
Next steps for Report elder abuse online
- Once a report is received, it will be reviewed by the local protective services agency.
- If a report is screened in for investigation, a Protective Services caseworker will be assigned to investigate the situation.
- The caseworker determines whether abuse or neglect is likely to be present and the nature and extent of the abuse or neglect.
- If abuse or neglect is confirmed, the caseworker will offer the elder a choice of services designed to alleviate or end the abusive or neglectful situation, and will refer to law enforcement if warranted.
If you report online:
If you include your email address you will receive an email confirmation for your records after the report is submitted.
If you call in the report:
Mandated reporters will be contacted by the protective service agency before screening out a report of abuse.
After a case has been investigated:
Mandated reporters will be informed of the Protective Service agency’s actions in response to the report within 45 calendar days of the report.
Non-mandated reporters shall be notified only upon their request.
More info about Report elder abuse online
Elder Protective Services only has jurisdiction to investigate cases of abuse where the individual:
- is over the age of 60 and
- resides in the community.
To make a verbal report to the Massachusetts Elder Abuse Hotline at 1-800-922-2275.
Please note: In most cases intakes are reviewed the same day, but regulations allows up to 48 hours.
Call 911 or your local law enforcement agency if you have an emergency or life-threatening situation that must be dealt with immediately
To report abuse of an adult Under the Age of 60, contact the Disabled Persons Protection Commission at 1-800- 426-9009.
To report abuse of a patient by Nursing Home or Hospital staff, contact the Massachusetts Department of Public Health at 1-800-462-5540.
Contact for Report elder abuse online
AddressOne Ashburton Place, 5 floor, Boston, MA 02108
Elder Abuse Hotline is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.Call Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA), Toll Free Connect to local elder service agency at (800) 243-4636