Log in links for this page
Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
Contact for Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
Registry of Motor Vehicles
The Details of Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
What you need for Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
To transfer your commercial driver’s license, you must do the following
- Decide what type of driver's license you want – a REAL ID Massachusetts Driver’s License (valid for federal purposes) or Standard Massachusetts Driver’s License (not valid for federal purposes). Go to our website at mass.gov/id to decide
- Complete your application online
- Bring your required identification (including your out-of-state learner's license) and completed application to an RMV Service Center
- In addition to the required identification, all CDL applicants must prove either United States citizenship or permanent lawful presence. If your name differs on the lawful presence document, you must also provide proof of the legal name change.
Pass a vision test
Present your current CDL at the time of the transaction
When converting an out-of-state CDL, the written and road tests may be waived if you are currently licensed at the time of your application, and the following criteria are met:
- You must certify that, during the 2-year period immediately before applying for a CDL you:
- Do not have more than one driver’s license
- Do not have any license suspended, revoked, or canceled
- Do not have any convictions for any type of motor vehicle disqualifying offenses
- Do not have more than one conviction for any type of motor vehicle for serious traffic violations
- Do not have any conviction for a violation of state or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control. This excludes parking violation. You must have no record of an accident in which you were at fault and no incidents of fraud relating to obtaining a driver’s license.
- You must provide evidence and certify that:
- You have operated a vehicle, representing a commercial motor vehicle you intend to drive
- You can provide documentation proving U.S. citizenship or lawful permanent residency
You must provide the following documentation for waiver consideration:
- Current out-of-state CDL
- An original copy of a driving record from a previous state of licensure less than 30 days old. This must state that you have held a CDL with no disqualifying events
- Proof of residency in Massachusetts
How to transfer Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
- The current out-of-state Commercial Driver’s License
- Identification documents
- Self-certification documents, if applicable, which may include the following:
- A complete CDL self-certification form
- A United States Department of Transportation (US DOT) medical examiner's certificate or intrastate medical waiver, unless the customer is exempt. For example, a US DOT medical examiner's certificate or intrastate medical waiver may not be required for a state or municipal employee using a state or municipal vehicle
- § If the US DOT medical examiner's certificate is only valid with a vision, diabetes, or skills performance evaluation variance granted by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), the customer will also need to provide this documentation
- The completed application
- The applicable fee
Most service centers accept cash, check, money order, and credit or debit cards. Since payment methods vary by location, check what’s accepted at the site you will be visiting.
You cannot transfer your driver's license online. However, you can get ready by completing the application online and answering a series of questions. At the end of the questionnaire, you will be provided with a complete application and list of required documents that you will need to bring with you to an RMV Service Center.
More info for Transfer your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) from out-of-state
When you apply for a Commercial Driver's License out-of-state conversion, you may also choose to transfer the endorsements on the previous Commercial Driver's License. However, due to federal requirements, an H endorsement (HazMat) is not transferable. To receive an H endorsement on a Massachusetts Commercial Driver's License, you must reapply for the endorsement.