DCR Stewardship Council

The DCR Stewardship Council is a thirteen member citizen advisory council appointed by the Governor.

Established by the Massachusetts legislature in 2003, the Stewardship Council is an independent body consisting of 13 members appointed by the Governor that assists and oversees DCR. The Council meets monthly to discuss issues pertaining to state parks, to hear presentations from DCR staff and outside partner organizations, and to receive public comments. The Council also has three committees that meet regularly to discuss finance, policy, and stakeholders. Learn how to become a guest presenter at an upcoming meeting.


Jack Buckley, Chairman
Middlesex County

Melissa Harper, Vice Chair
Plymouth County
Ann Canedy, Secretary
Barnstable County
Jeffrey Collins
Environmental Seat
Dicken Crane
Berkshire County

Phil Doherty
Norfolk County

Ted Dooley
Essex County

Kevin O'Shea

Vivian Ortiz
Suffolk County

Susan Smiley
Worcester County
Dennis Smith
Plymouth County
Jennifer N.S. Wilson
Middlesex County
Environmental Seat

Upcoming Meetings

Date Time Location More Information
6/8/23 4:00pm Mass Wildlife Headquarters Joint Meeting with Fish and Wildlife Board
6/8/23 5:00pm Mass Wildlife Headquarters Monthly Meeting 
7/13/23 9:00am Zoom Monthly Meeting 
9/14/23 5:00pm Community Rowing Inc. Monthly Meeting 
10/12/23 9:00am Zoom Monthly Meeting 
11/9/23 9:00am Zoom Monthly Meeting 
12/14/23 9:00am TBD Monthly Meeting 


Recent Meetings

Find more meeting information on our Past Meeting page.



Department of Conservation & Recreation
251 Causeway St, Suite 600
Boston, MA 02114

Help Us Improve Mass.gov with your feedback