EEC Categories of Study

The EEC Categories of Study are a key component of the hiring requirements that any candidate must meet prior to an offer of employment.

Each category of study outlines the content that is expected to be taught in a course within that category.

  • Category of Study 1: Child Growth and Development, Birth – Eight Years
  • Category of Study 2: Planning Programs and Environments for Young Children
  • Category of Study 3: Curriculum for Early Childhood Settings
  • Category of Study 4: Child and Classroom Management
  • Category of Study 5: Advanced or Specialized Early Childhood Education or Development
  • Category of Study 6: Children with Special Needs, Birth – Sixteen Years
  • Category of Study 7: Infant and Toddler Development, Care, and Program Planning
  • Category of Study 8: Health and Safety in Early Childhood
  • Category of Study 9: Families and Community
  • Category of Study 10: Child Care Policy
  • Category of Study 11: Supervision or Staff Development in Early Childhood Education
  • Category of Study 12: Child Observation, Documentation, and Assessment
  • Category of Study 13: Child Care Administration
  • Category of Study 14: Topics Specific to Out of School Time (includes General Elementary Education, Middle School Education, Special Education Studies, and Studies Related to Positive Youth Development)

EEC Categories of Study Guide

Additional Resources

Contact   for EEC Categories of Study

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.