Mass. General Laws c.244 § 41

After property is vacated following mortgage foreclosure, the owner or lessor should inspect it for abandoned animals

This is an unofficial version of a Massachusetts General Law. For more information on this topic, please see law about animals.

Table of Contents


Added by St.2018, c.219, § 21, effective November 7, 2018

Section 41

Not more than 3 days after the property owner knew or should have known that a property was vacated through a mortgage foreclosure, the owner, person in control of the property or a designee shall inspect the property for the presence of abandoned animals. If the owner, person in control of the property or a designee encounters an abandoned animal under this section, such person shall immediately notify an animal control officer as defined in section 136A of chapter 140, a police officer or other authorized agent of the presence and condition of the animal.

The owner, person in control of the property or a designee who encounters an abandoned animal pursuant to this section shall not be considered the owner, possessor or person having the charge or custody of the animal under section 77 of chapter 272.

For the purposes of this section, an animal shall be considered abandoned if it is found in a property vacated through mortgage foreclosure.

If the owner or person in control of the property fails to comply with this section, such person shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $500 for a first offense and not more than $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense. Funds collected under this section shall be deposited into the Homeless Animal Prevention and Care Fund established in section 35WW of chapter 10.



Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only


Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email
For more information: Download the brochure 


Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: May 8, 2019