offered by

News New Division - Metro South Housing Court - Officially Opens

Metro South Housing Court officially opened its doors on August 13 and held its first session on August 15 as part of the Housing Court expansion authorized last year by the Governor and Legislature.
  • Housing Court
Metro South Housing Court staff

The new Metro South Housing Court will serve Abington, Bridgewater, Brockton, East Bridgewater, West Bridgewater, and Whitman, and eventually will serve Norfolk County, as well.  

In addition to opening a new division, the Housing Court expansion led by Chief Justice Timothy Sullivan and Deputy Court Administrator Paul Burke includes:

  • Increasing the number of judges in the department from 10 to 15
  • Expanding the jurisdiction of the existing divisions
  • Extending access to the Housing Court for 84 additional cities and towns in Massachusetts

Housing Court 

The Housing Court Department oversees civil and criminal actions that involve the health, safety, or welfare of homeowners or those who live in residential housing.