This page, Bowhunter Education Courses, is part of
This page, Bowhunter Education Courses, is offered by

Bowhunter Education Courses

After an interruption of courses due to the Covid-19 pandemic, a few restrictions have eased and courses are resuming. Please check these pages periodically for updates.

Bowhunter education is not required in Massachusetts and a Bowhunter Education certificate does not qualify you to purchase your first-ever Massachusetts hunting or sporting license.

The Bowhunter education course is designed for novice and experienced hunters. Topics include bowhunting safety, bowhunting laws and ethics and introduction to archery equipment.

Earning a Bowhunter Education certificate... 

is voluntary in Massachusetts. It is not required.

 ❌ does not qualify a person to purchase their first-ever Massachusetts hunting or sporting license.

is recognized in other jurisdictions (i.e. such as CT, NH, NY, ME, RI, VT, etc.) that require the successful completion of the Bowhunter Education course.  

All courses are FREE of charge and open to the public.

Bow Hunter Education course listing

To enroll in a course, call (508) 389-7830. Office hours are M-F 8 a.m.–4 p.m.

Facility & Address

Dates and Times

Status

Woburn Sportsmen's Association
155 Middlesex Turnpike
BEDFORD

Handicapped accessible
Click here for directions

1-day course (Sunday)
Sunday August 22, 2021
7:00am–5:00pm

COURSE IS FULL

 

Nenameseck Sportsmen's Club
150 Bacon Road
PALMER
Handicapped accessible
Click here for directions

CANCELLED

1-day course (Sat)
Saturday August 14, 2021
8:00 am–4:00pm

CANCELLED

 

About Bowhunter Education

The Bowhunter Education course was developed by the International Hunter Education Association (IHEA) and National Bowhunter Education Foundation (NBEF). Topics covered include the selection of equipment, bowhunting safety, ethics, and bowhunting laws. Learn more.

Minors

Students under the age of 18 must have written consent from a parent or guardian to attend this type of course. A parent or guardian should be present at the start of the student's class to complete the student's registration form or the student can bring a signed permission form with them to the start of their course.

Tips for finding a bowhunter education course

  • Periodically monitor this page for new course offerings.
  • Sign up for course notifications. We will let you know when courses are scheduled in your area.
  • Another option is to take the bowhunter course in a different state.

Remember: Bowhunter education is not required in Massachusetts and completion of a Bowhunter education course does not qualify a person to purchase a Massachusetts hunting license.

Additional Resources for

Feedback