An official website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
This page, Classification of Natural Communities, is part of
This page, Classification of Natural Communities, is offered by

Classification of Natural Communities

The classification of the natural communities of Massachusetts provides a basis for discussing and conserving the diversity of our types of natural communities and the species they support.


This classification divides natural community types into three major sections:

  • Terrestrial
  • Palustrine
  • Estuarine

The preferred citation for the 2020 edition of the Classification of Natural Communities of Massachusetts is:

Swain, P.C. 2020. Classification of the Natural Communities of Massachusetts. Natural Heritage & Endangered Species Program, Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. Westborough, MA.