This page, EEC Professional Qualifications Certification - Categories of Study, is offered by

EEC Professional Qualifications Certification - Categories of Study

The Department of Early Education and Care's Categories of Study are the topic areas included in the educational requirements for EEC Professional Qualifications Certification.

EEC has 13 Categories of Study in the education requirements for Professional Qualifications Certification:

  • Category of Study 1: Child Growth and Development, Birth – Eight Years
  • Category of Study 2: Planning Programs and Environments for Young Children
  • Category of Study 3: Curriculum for Early Childhood Settings
  • Category of Study 4: Child and Classroom Management
  • Category of Study 5: Advanced or Specialized Early Childhood Education or Development
  • Category of Study 6: Children with Special Needs, Birth – Sixteen Years
  • Category of Study 7: Infant and Toddler Development, Care, and Program Planning
  • Category of Study 8: Health and Safety in Early Childhood
  • Category of Study 9: Families and Community
  • Category of Study 10: Child Care Policy
  • Category of Study 11: Supervision or Staff Development in Early Childhood Education
  • Category of Study 12: Child Observation, Documentation, and Assessment
  • Category of Study 13: Child Care Administration

Each category of study outlines the content that is expected to be taught in a course within that category. Please download EEC's Categories of Study Content Guidance for more information.  

To learn more about the institutions that provide courses or programs for early education and care, please view EEC's Course Catalog.