The State Organization Index provides an alphabetical listing of government organizations, including commissions, departments, and bureaus.
Top-requested sites to log in to services provided by the state
The Attorney General's Office (AGO) has the authority to issue temporary waivers of time restrictions for children working in entertainment, theater or film. The following information is designed to assist industry in understanding and applying for a waiver.
Decisions to issue waivers are grounded in the Attorney General's commitment to the safety and well-being of child actors and performers, compliance with the law, and support for the film and entertainment industries.
Note: All employers of minors must comply with relevant requirements set forth in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws.
With an approved entertainment industry waiver, children may work under the conditions shown below:
2 to 5 years
The AGO does not have statutory authority to waive the time of day restrictions contained in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws, however the AGO will not take enforcement action as a result of a 16- or 17-year-old child working on a play, movie, or production between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12:30 a.m., as long as the child's parent or guardian has provided written consent to the employer that the work schedule is reasonable given the child's educational and health needs.
Note that there are no exceptions or waiver options for the following daily/weekly cumulative hours for minors 16 to 17 years old:
Employers of minors must comply with other requirements set forth in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws. A waiver is not the same as a youth employment work permit; a work permit is required for all minors aged 14–17, pursuant to M.G.L. c. 149, secs. 86-89.
M, W, F: 1–4 p.m. T, Th: 10 a.m.-1 p.m.