Learn about penalty rates in Massachusetts

This page provides a graph of penalty rates in Massachusetts.

Penalty rates in Massachusetts

Type of Civil Penalty Penalty Amount/Rate References
Failure to File Timely Return 1% per month, or fraction thereof, of the unpaid tax up to a maximum of 25% Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 33(a)
Failure to Pay a Tax When Due 1% per month, or fraction thereof, of the unpaid tax up to a maximum of 25% Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 33(b)
Failure to Pay Deficiency Assessment 1% per month, or fraction thereof, of the unpaid tax up to a maximum of 25%, combined with section 33(b) above Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 33(c)
Failure to File Return After Notice or Filing of a Fraudulent Return Up to double the tax amount determined to be due. Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 28
Failure to Report Federal Change 10% of the additional tax Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 30
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalties-Income Tax and Corporate Excise Interest at an annual rate equivalent to the federal short‑term rate plus four percentage points Mass. General Laws c. 62C § 32(a) and c. 62B, § 14(a) and (b) or G.L. c. 63B, § 3
Demand Charge $30 per demand for payment missed Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 46 and G.L. c. 60, § 15
Dishonored Check or Failed Electronic Funds Transfer $30 or the amount of the payment, whichever is less, for payments under $1,500; 2% of the payment for payments $1,500 or greater Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35
Failure to File, Report or Pay Electronically Up to $100 for each failure to file returns, transfer data, or pay electronically as required by the Department Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 33(g)
Depository Filer Failure to Make Deposits 5% of the underpayment Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 45A
Failure to File Wage Reports Up to $25 per employee, contractor, or other recipient of periodic income or, if the result of a conspiracy between employer and recipient not to file the required report, $500 for each recipient. Mass. General Laws c. 62E, § 9
Failure to Withhold, File Returns or Pay Over Taxes Fine of $100 - $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both Mass. General Laws c. 62B, § 7
Failure to File Report of Income Paid to Persons $1 for each such report not filed, up to $1,000. In addition, a payor of taxable income is subject to a fine of $25 - $500 for a failure to file with DOR without reasonable cause. Mass. General Laws c. 62C, §§ 34 and 77
Fraudulent Estate Tax Returns 50% of the underpayment Mass. General Laws c. 65C, § 13
Failure to File a Partnership Return $5 for every day the partnership fails to file Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 34
 
Promoter Failure to File a Required Report $5 for every day for which the report is not filed Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 34
Negligence or Substantial Underpayment 20% of the underpayment Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35A
Return Preparer Penalty

$1,000 per return or claim 

Greater of $1,000 or 10% of understatement

Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35C(a)

Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35C(b)

Inconsistent Filing Position Equal to the amount of tax attributable to the inconsistency Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35D
Promoters of Abusive Tax Shelters Up to $5,000 for each client to whom the statement was made Mass. General Laws c. 62C, § 35E

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Feedback