Medicare and Medicaid certification requirements and process

Learn about the Medicare and/or Medicaid certification process for health care facilities and individual providers.

Health care facilities and programs

Health care facilities and programs must be certified to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid programs. The Division of Health Care Facility Licensure and Certification is the CMS State Survey Agency for the following provider programs:

  • Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASC)
  • Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORF)
  • End-Stage Renal Dialysis (ESRD)
  • Home Health Agencies (HHA)
  • Hospices
  • Hospitals
  • Laboratories (CLIA)
  • Nursing Homes
  • Outpatient Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy/Speech Pathology Services (OPT/SP)
  • Rural Health Centers (RHC)

For information regarding certification of these programs, please contact the Division of Health Care Facility Licensure and Certification.

Individual providers seeking medicare certification

If you are an individual provider such as a doctor or dentist that is operating as a practice rather than a licensed clinic, and are seeking Medicare certification, please contact the Medicare Provider Line at (877) 869-6504.


Nursing Homes and Hospitals

  • (617) 753-8036

All other program types

  • (617) 753-8124

Help Us Improve with your feedback