The Massachusetts Court Process

Learn about how court processes in the different court departments work.

The Massachusetts Court System consists of the Supreme Judicial Court (SJC), the Appeals Court, the Executive Office of the Trial Court, the 7 Trial Court departments, the Office of the Commissioner of Probation, and the Office of Jury Commissioner (OJC). The Governor, with the consent of the elected Governor's Council, appoints all Massachusetts judges. Judges hold office until the mandatory retirement age of 70.