Slideshow Featured Content

  • Hen Turkey

    Help Count Turkeys

    Got turkey families in the neighborhood? Help us count turkey groups containing hens and their young poults (broods) this summer (June – August)

    Learn More »

  • 3magazines

    Massachusetts Wildlife magazine

    Massachusetts Wildlife magazine features award-winning photos and articles on the environment, conservation, fishing, hunting, natural history, and more.

    Learn More »

  • Turtle Xing Harvard

    Turtle Crossing

    It’s egg laying time and turtles are found crossing roads and in backyards. Check out our turtle tips to help these ancient creatures survive now and into the future. 

    Learn More »

  • Fawn curl

    If you care, leave them there!

    Remember this if you come across young wildlife this spring.

    Learn More »

  • bear feeder

    Please Don’t Feed Bears!

    It’s time to take birdfeeders down. Eliminating food is the first step in preventing conflicts with bears and other wildlife.

    Learn More »

Seasonal Highlights

  • Sale of Surplus Antlerless Deer Permits by Wildlife Management Zone links to PDF file will be staggered over the following days in October:
    • Zone 11 permits will go on sale on Tuesday, October 7, 2014 at 8 A.M.
    • Zone 10 permits will go on sale on Wednesday, October 8, 2014 at 8 A.M.
    • Zone 13 and 14 permits will go on sale on Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 8 A.M. 

    Once on sale, permits will remain available until sold out in each Wildlife Management Zone. Hunters are reminded that they can only purchase permits through MassFishHunt, at a license vendor location, or at a DFW office. More about surplus antlerless deer permits.

  • Sunday Hunting Still Prohibited
    Hunting on Sundays is still prohibited in Massachusetts. A bill to allow bowhunting on Sundays had been passed by the House in June of 2014 but did not get passed by the full legislature. Consider sharing this information with hunting friends, clubs, and other sporting groups.

  • 2014-15 Migratory Game Bird Regulations Available Now pdf format of 2014-15 Waterfowl ABS
– Bag limits and hunting seasions for migratory game birds (woodcock, ducks, geese, snipe, coot, and rails), plus waterfowl hunting zones.

  • Antlerless Deer Permit Instant Award Period begins August 1st – Log into the MassFishHunt system to try to win a permit. This is NOT a first-come first-served system; hunters can try to win a permit any time between August 1st and December 31st. View detailed Antlerless Deer Permit instructions and 2014 Permit allocations and chances of winning pdf format of 2014 ADP Allocations and Chances of Winning
  • Sharks, Moths, and Arches, Oh My! –White shark research, moth identification and survey techniques, and historic arched stone railroad bridges on a state wildlife management area are featured in the #2 issue of Massachusetts Wildlife magazine . To subscribe, email, provide your name, mailing address, and subscription desired ($10/2 years, $6/1 year). We will bill you and send you this particular issue!

  • Designed for both women and men (18 and older) who are new to deer hunting. In this seminar, participants will learn about deer behavior, what to wear, what gear to bring on a deer hunt, deer management, sighting in a firearm and other useful tips. This is Part 1 of a 2-part workshop. Part 2 is a guided Deer Hunt for adult women. Men and women may sign up for Part 1 (Seminar) and women may sign up for Part 1 and Part 2 (Hunt). No previous hunting experience is required for the seminar. Space fills up quickly, with registration preference for new hunters/first time participants. Click here for the registration materials pdf format of 2014 BOW Deer Hunting Workshop