Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Learn how to apply for a hoisting engineer licenses in Massachusetts or update an existing license.
Please allow 5 weeks for application processing.

Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure

Online

If looking for a status update on a license renewal, please put your full OPSI license number, including prefix, in the subject line. Email Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure at OPSI-info@mass.gov

The Details   of Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

What you need   for Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Anyone who wishes to operate hoisting equipment (including derricks, cableways, machinery used for discharging cargoes, and temporary elevator cars used on excavation work or used for hoisting building material) must obtain a Hoisting Engineer License. Licenses must be renewed every 2 years. 

Hoisting operators must be 18 years of age, complete an application, and successfully pass an examination that covers all working parts of the hoisting machinery, safety practices, hand signals, and inspection procedures. 

If you aren’t sure which license to apply for, see the License Type Guide

What you need to apply

You will need the following items to apply for a hoisting license and sit for an exam:    

  • A copy of a valid driver's license, driver's license learner's permit, or Massachusetts ID from the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) 
  • A copy of a DOT Medical Certificate, Massachusetts Intrastate Medical Waiver, or ANSI/ASME B30.5 Medial Qualifications Form. For more information, view Medical Requirements for Hoisting Engineer License.
  • Either authorization from the Massachusetts RMV to hare your driver's license photo with the Office of Public Safety and Inspections (OPSI) or a 2-inch by 2-inch photo that meets these guidelines.
  • Applicants applying for an Apprentice License must also submit an ID card from the Division of Apprentice Standards (DAS). 

To prepare for an exam, you must know all relevant statutes, regulations, and instructions provided by the manufacturer's operating manuals. For more information, vew Education Requirements for Hoisting Engineer License.

If you are a military veteran or service member, you may qualify for benefits under the VALOR Act, including fee waivers, expedited processing, and more. For more information, view Licensing Benefits for Active Military, Spouses & Veterans.

 

Fees   for Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

There is a nonrefundable application processing fee of $75. Payment can be made online during the application process. If you sent an application by mail, payment must be enclosed in the form of a check or money order made out to the “Commonwealth of Massachusetts". 

Name Fee Unit
License Application $75 Per Restriction

How to apply   Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Complete an Application Online. You can use this application to apply for a new license or to upgrade or add restrictions to a current license.

Mail your completed Hoisting Engineer Exam Application and the non-refundable processing fee to this address:

Division of Occupational Licensure
Office of Public Safety and Inspections
ATTN: Hoisting Engineer Exam
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118

Please make sure your application has your correct social security number and mailing address. 

More info   for Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Issuing Temporary Permits

If you need to issue temporary permits as a short-term rental entity for compact hoisting machinery, view Short-Term Rental Info

Continuing Education

If you want to offer your own continuing education for hoisting engineers, view 

Downloads   for Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Contact   for Apply for a Hoisting Engineer License

Address
Main Office
1000 Washington St, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
Online
If looking for a status update on a license renewal, please put your full OPSI license number, including prefix, in the subject line. Email Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure at OPSI-info@mass.gov

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.
Feedback