File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

If you are not a first-time petitioner for the Massachusetts Bar Exam, please follow these instructions to re-apply.

Supreme Judicial Court for the County of Suffolk

The Details of File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

What you need for File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

Your petition for admission by re-examination includes:

  • Petition Cover Sheet 
  • Petition to the Court requiring your original signature and an original signature by the recommending attorney
  • Petitioner’s statement to the Board of Bar Examiners requiring your name and original signature
  • NCBE Identification Number: You must have a valid NCBE Identification Number. See your MPRE Score Report for your number. If you do not have an NCBE number yet, visit https://accounts.ncbex.org/php/ncbe_number/ to obtain your valid NCBE Identification number.
  • Authorization Form, requiring your original signature
  • Law School Certificate only if you did not submit these with your previous petition
  • Letters of Recommendation - two (2) current letters of recommendation are required
  • Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) Report, only if you did not submit these with your previous petition
  • Certificate(s) of Admission and Good Standing (if applicable)  
  • Laptop Computer Registration & Statement of Compliance, if applicable, with the technology fee of $75.00 in the form of a money order or bank check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (if applicable). Please note no personal checks will be accepted.
  • Filing Fee: Money order or certified bank check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. No personal checks accepted. If applicable, combine the filing fee and technology fee into a single payment of $890.00 in the form of a bank check or money order payable to the Commonwealth. All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

Your Petition for re-examination will be returned to you if said requirements are not on file with the Clerk’s office. 

Fees for File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

Name Fee Unit
Technology Fee (Non-refundable/Non-transferable) $75 each
Filing Fee (Non-refundable/Non-transferable) $815 each

How to file File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

The PDF form includes a petition cover sheet, a petition to the court requiring your original signature and an original signature by the recommending attorney, the applicant's Statement to the Board of Bar Examiners requiring your original signature and the authorization form requiring your original signature. The reapplication must be filed (not postmarked) by December 7, 2018.

You must complete the PDF for Petition by Retake Examination.  The link to download the PDF will be available soon.  Once the form is completed, you must print and mail the petition and all required documentation.

Filing fee: Combine filing fee of $815.00  and laptop fee of $75.00 (if applicable) payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the form of a certified bank check or money order. No personal or firm checks will be accepted.

The filing deadline for the February 2019 exam is December 7, 2018.

File the petition for re-examination found below with required attachments addressed to:

Supreme Judicial Court for Suffolk County
Clerk Maura S. Doyle
One Pemberton Square
John Adams Courthouse – Suite 1300
Boston, MA 02108-1707

The PDF form for the February 2019 bar exam in Massachusetts includes a petition cover sheet, a petition to the court requiring your original signature and an original signature by the recommending attorney, the applicant's Statement to the Board of Bar Examiners requiring your original signature and the authorization form requiring your original signature. The reapplication must be filed (not postmarked) by December 7, 2018.

You must complete the PDF for Petition by Retake Examination.  The link to download the PDF will be available soon.  Once the form is completed, you must print and mail the petition and all required documentation.

Filing fee: Combine filing fee of $815.00  and laptop fee of $75.00 (if applicable) payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the form of a certified bank check or money order. No personal or firm checks will be accepted.

Petitions for the February 2019 exam may be filed in person by the December 7, 2018 filing deadline at:

Supreme Judicial Court for The County of Suffolk 
Clerk Maura S. Doyle
One Pemberton Square
John Adams Courthouse, Suite 1300
Boston, MA 02108-1707

 

Next steps for File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

Taking the Bar Exam

The bar exam will be administered on Tuesday, February 26th and Wednesday, February 27th, 2019 at the  Boston Convention and Exhibit Center, 415 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 and at Western New England University School of Law, 1215 Wilbraham Road, Springfield, MA 01119.

More info about File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

The petition must be received (not postmarked) by the deadline.  The deadline for the February 2019 exam is December 7, 2018.  It is highly recommended that your petition be either hand-delivered or mailed using a return-receipt method, i.e., Priority Mail. Please note that the Clerk’s Office is unable to confirm receipt of your petition before the deadline. Incomplete Petitions for Admission will not be accepted for filing by the Clerk's Office.

    Downloads for File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

    Contact for File a Petition for Admission to the Massachusetts Bar by Re-Examination

    Address
    Maura S. Doyle, Clerk
    John Adams Courthouse, 1st Floor, One Pemberton Square, Suite 1300, Boston, MA 02108-1707
    Fax
    Main 617-557-1117
    Attorney Services 617-557-1055
    Address
    Edward W. Brooke Courthouse
    24 New Chardon St 1st floor, Boston, MA 02114
    Phone

    Office hours are 8:30am-4:30pm M-F.

    Fax
    Fax: (617) 542-5943

    Feedback

    Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
    We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
    We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

    If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

    Feedback