How to file for admission by examination

Review the filing process for a Petition for Admission by Examination for the first time

Supreme Judicial Court for the County of Suffolk

The Details of How to file for admission by examination

What you need for How to file for admission by examination

To file your Petition for Admission by Examination, you must include the filing fee and a fully completed Petition.  The Supreme Judicial Court Clerk for The County of Suffolk does not provide a verification of receipt of the petition by the filing deadline.  All fees must be paid by money order or certified bank check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and are no-refundable.

Information and documents you will need in order to complete the Petition by examination:

  • Current contact information, including address and phone number
  • Valid email address
  • NCBE number 
  • Information regarding surname changes, if any, including the date of, location of, and reason for change 
  • Residential address history for previous five (5) years, including dates (month & year) 
  • Education history including all disciplinary actions and applicable records 
  • Employment history since the age of eighteen (18) with dates of employment, employer reference, and reason for leaving 
  • Dates of all other applications and bar admissions to jurisdictions (if any)
  • Official score transfer from NCBE for a UBE exam taken within 36 months of filing the Petition (if applicable) 
  • Law school certificate 
  • MPRE score report showing scaled score of 85 or higher - unofficial is acceptable 
  • Certificate(s) of Good Standing (if applicable) 
  • Grievance Letter (if applicable) 
  • Legal Proceedings (civil, administrative, criminal, financial, charges, grievances, suspensions and all  supporting documentation, including current disposition and statement of details.) 
  • Legal practice discipline if applicable (charges, grievances, suspensions, etc.) including records and statement of details 
  • Letters of Recommendation - two current letters are required
  • Laptop Registration and Statement of Compliance forms (if applicable)

Fees for How to file for admission by examination

Name Fee Unit
Petition $815 each
Laptop program fee $75 each

How to apply How to file for admission by examination

You may register and log in at https://barapp.sjccountyclerk.com/  to complete the petition online or you can download the Petition for Admission by Examination  below.  Once the form is completed, you must print and submit the petition and all required documentation.

Filing fee: Combine filing fee of $815.00  and laptop fee of $75.00 (if applicable) payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the form of a certified bank check or money order. No personal or firm checks will be accepted.

The filing deadline for the July 2018 exam is May 11, 2018.

Petitions may be filed in person at:

Supreme Judicial Court for The County of Suffolk
Clerk Maura S. Doyle
One Pemberton Square
John Adams Courthouse, Suite 1300
Boston, MA 02108-1707

You may register and log in at https://barapp.sjccountyclerk.com/  to complete the petition online or you can download the Petition for Admission by Examination below.  Once the form is completed, you must print and mail the petition and all required documentation.

Filing fee: Combine filing fee of $815.00  and laptop fee of $75.00 (if applicable) payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the form of a certified bank check or money order. No personal or firm checks will be accepted.

The filing deadline for the July 2018 exam is May 11, 2018.

Petitions may be filed by mail at:

Supreme Judicial Court for The County of Suffolk 
Clerk Maura S. Doyle
One Pemberton Square
John Adams Courthouse, Suite 1300
Boston, MA 02108-1707

You may register and log in at https://barapp.sjccountyclerk.com/  to complete the petition online or you can download the Petition for Admission by Examination below.  Once the form is completed, you must print and submit the petition and all required documentation.

Filing fee: Combine filing fee of $815.00  and laptop fee of $75.00 (if applicable) payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the form of a certified bank check or money order. No personal or firm checks will be accepted.

The filing deadline for the July 2018 exam is May 11, 2018.

Petitions may be filed in person at:

Supreme Judicial Court for The County of Suffolk
Clerk Maura S. Doyle
One Pemberton Square
John Adams Courthouse, Suite 1300
Boston, MA 02108-1707

More info about How to file for admission by examination

You must print the Petition, sign and file with all attachments by mail or in person.

    Downloads for How to file for admission by examination

    Contact for How to file for admission by examination

    Address
    Maura S. Doyle, Clerk
    John Adams Courthouse, 1st Floor, One Pemberton Square, Suite 1300, Boston, MA 02108-1707
    Fax
    Main 617-557-1117
    Attorney Services 617-557-1055
    Address
    Edward W. Brooke Courthouse
    24 New Chardon St 1st floor, Boston, MA 02114
    Phone

    Office hours are 8:30am-4:30pm M-F.

    Fax
    Fax: (617) 542-5943

    Feedback

    Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
    We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
    We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

    If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

    Tell us what you think