Log in links for this page

Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

If you need the official police report for a vehicle crash, you can get a copy from the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Allow 4 weeks for the RMV to research and process your request.

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Online

Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 

The Details   of Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

What you need   for Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

A standard or certified copy of a motor vehicle police crash report filed by a state or local Massachusetts Police Agency and processed by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) can be requested by an individual involved in the crash or a Permitted User under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). 

To ensure the report is available, please wait at least 4 weeks after the crash to submit a request. 

If you are an individual involved in the crash: 

  • You must be one of the following: 

    • Operator of vehicle 
    • Vehicle owner 
    • Occupant in vehicle 
    • Vulnerable User involved crash (formerly non-motorist) 
    • Witness to the crash 
    • Property Owner (if there was property damage due to the crash) 
  • You must have a current or expired credential.

    • Individuals with a Massachusetts credential must follow the instructions below in the Online section

    • Individuals with an Out of State credential must follow the instructions below in the By Mail section

If you are  a DPPA Permitted User (refer to permitted users on the Request for Crash Report Form).

  • You must have your organization’s Crash Account ID number, and Username (email address) on record with the RMV. Visit the Crash Program page for details.

Fees   for Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

There is a $20 non-refundable search fee for each report requested. 

Name Fee Unit
Crash Report Search Fee $20 each

How to request   Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

To request a copy of a police crash report online, you will need to provide the following:

  • Driver's license/learner's permit number
  • First and last name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security Number (SSN) for the driver
  • Email address
  • Applicable fee
  • DPPA Permitted Users requesting a copy of a police crash report will need the organization’s Crash Account ID number and Username (email address) provided by the RMV.  Visit the Crash Program page for details.   

Requests for copies of Police Crash Reports by mail will only be accepted for requestors who do not have a Massachusetts issued credential or authorized permitted users.

Send completed form, copy of identification, and payment (money order or check made payable to MassDOT) to:

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Crash Records

P.O. Box 55889

Boston, MA  02205

 

More info   for Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

  • Please allow 4 weeks for the RMV to process your request.  

  • If a report is not found, the RMV will continue to search its database for the requested report for 90 days from the date of the crash.  

Contact   for Request a Copy of a Police Crash Report

Online
Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.
Feedback