Related to:

Non-motor vehicle suspensions

This section provides the Registry of Motor Vehicles' policies related to suspensions/revocations triggered by outstanding obligations to the Registry or other government agencies within Massachusetts.
skip table of contents

Table of Contents

Bad payments made to the RMV

The RMV will suspend or revoke your permit, license or right to operate, and registration indefinitely if you make a bad payment. A bad payment is any payment that is rescinded, invalidated, rejected, or not paid in full.

If your license, right to operate, or vehicle registration is suspended due to a bad payment, you must make full restitution before your license, right to operate, or vehicle registration can be restored.

A $15.00 fee is charged for all bad payments. A $100.00 fee is also required to reinstate your driver's license, right to operate, and/or vehicle registration. These fees are payable by cash, certified check, or money order only made payable to MassDOT.

This payment may be made at any RMV Service Center or you can mail your certified check or money order to the Registry of Motor Vehicles Revenue Control: PO Box 55889
Boston, MA 02205-5889

Child support non-payment

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 22(g), the RMV will suspend/revoke a customer's learner's permit/driver' license or right to operate, and/or registration indefinitely if you fail to pay child support to the Department of Revenue Child Support Enforcement Division.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that you must pay the child support obligation to the Department of Revenue Child Support Enforcement Division within 10 days.

  • If you pay the child support obligation before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action.
  • If you fail to pay the child support obligation before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate, and/or registration(s) indefinitely until this obligation is satisfied.

Court defaults

If you fail to appear for a criminal court hearing, the court will issue an arrest warrant, or, previously, the court may have submitted a criminal citation default to the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). In both cases, your license or right to operate would be revoked indefinitely until you appear at the court to resolve your issue. It is important to note that many criminal offenses carry mandatory revocation periods. Even though you resolve the Warrant or citation default, if you are found guilty of the underlying charge, your license or right to operate may be suspended or revoked for that particular offense.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that the customer has 30 days to contact the court having issued the default and obtain either a release form or a supplemental court abstract authorizing the RMV to release this default suspension/revocation.

  • If you satisfy the court default before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action.
  • If you do not satisfy the court default before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate indefinitely until this court default has been satisfied.

Once the court has cleared the default, a supplemental court abstract will be mailed to the RMV indicating the final disposition of the violation.

In some cases, a court may have issued both an arrest warrant and a court default for the same incident. This would generate 2 indefinite suspensions. These suspensions must be resolved with the court, and a release form, court abstract, and/or warrant recall must be presented to the RMV to be reinstated.

Note: Many criminal offenses carry mandatory suspension periods if found guilty in court. Even though a customer may clear the warrant, if he/she is found guilty of the underlying charge, his/her permit/license or right to operate may be suspended/revoked.

Failure to register as a sex offender

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 22(j), the RMV may suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate, and/or registration indefinitely if you fail to register as a sex offender with the sex offender registry board.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that you will be suspended 90 days from the issuance of the notice. You can register as a sex offender by completing a sex offender registry board registration form and mailing it to the sex offender registry board or providing it to your local police department.

  • If you register as a sex offender before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action.
  • If you do not register as a sex offender before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate, and/or registration(s) indefinitely until you register.

Additional Resources

No active insurance policy

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 34H, the RMV will suspend/revoke your vehicle registration indefinitely when notified by your insurance company of an insurance policy cancellation.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that you must provide proof of valid insurance within 10 days from the issuance of the notice.

  • If you provide proof of valid insurance to the RMV before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action.
  • If you do not provide proof of valid insurance to the RMV the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your vehicle registration indefinitely until you provide proof of insurance.

State tax non-payment

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 62C Section 47B, the RMV may suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate, and/or vehicle registration indefinitely if you fail to pay state taxes to the Department of Revenue Collections Bureau.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that you will be suspended 10 days from the date the suspension notice is issued.

  • If you pay your state taxes to the Department of Revenue Collections Bureau before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action.
  • If you do not pay your state taxes to the Department of Revenue Collections Bureau before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate, and/or registration(s) indefinitely until this obligation is paid.

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Tell us what you think