Making CLAS Happen: Six Areas for Action

A guide to providing culturally and linguistically appropriate services in a variety of public health settings.

This manual offers innovative and practical approaches for agencies to incorporate the federal CLAS principles and practices into all aspects of organizational activities. "Making CLAS Happen: Six Areas for Action" divides the standards into 6 chapters:

  1. Foster cultural competence
  2. Build community partnerships
  3. Collect and share diversity data
  4. Benchmark: plan and evaluate
  5. Reflect and respect diversity
  6. Ensure language access

Each chapter includes hands-on tools, resources lists, and case studies from public health and social service providers across Massachusetts.

Table of Contents

Literature review & updates

Introduction & chapters 1-6

Appendices, glossary, and replacement pages

Self-Assessment Tool

Additional Resources

Help Us Improve with your feedback