Citizens Commission (Created by 2018 Ballot Question 2)

The Citizens Commission Concerning a Constitutional Amendment for Government of the People was created by a vote of the people of the Commonwealth on November 6, 2018.

About us

To advance the policy of Massachusetts in favor of amending the Constitution of the United States (i) to affirm that artificial entities do not possess the inalienable Constitutional rights of the people, and (ii) in order to eliminate the undue influence of concentrated money on elections and on governmental policy, campaign contributions and spending may be regulated and limited.

15 Members

  • 3 Appointed by the Governor
  • 3 Appointed by the Secretary of the Commonwealth
  • 3 Appointed by the Attorney General
  • 3 Appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • 3 Appointed by the Senate President

Appointees to the Citizens Commission shall serve without compensation.

Application Process

All appointments to the Citizens Commission were made no sooner than 90 days (April 1, 2019) and no later than 120 days (April 30, 2019) after the effective date of this Act. 

Applications by any citizen who sought to serve on this Commission stated:

  1. The intent of the applicant to comply with and advance the policy established by this Act;
  2. The applicant's qualifications and interest in serving on the Citizens Commission;
  3. The political party affiliation, if any, of the applicant over the previous 5 years;
  4. The city or town in which the applicant resides;
  5. The employment of the applicant, if employed.

All applications for service on the Citizens Commission were submitted within 60 days (by April 1, 2019) of the posting of the appointment opportunity on the official website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. All applications have been posted publicly as required by statute. 

A report is due on or before December 31, 2019.

Citizens Commission Members

Gubernatorial Appointees

Three Commission members appointed by Governor Charlie Baker.

  • Commission Member

    Matthew McKnight

  • Commission Member

    Bopha Malone

  • Co-Chair

    William Kilmartin

Secretary of the Commonwealth Appointees

Three Commission members appointed by Secretary William F. Galvin.

  • Commission Member

    Michael Harrington

  • Commission Member

    Dr. Nikolas Bowie

  • Commission Member

    Jennifer Taub

Attorney General Appointees

Three Commission members appointed by Attorney General Maura Healey

  • Commission Member

    Jeff Clements

  • Commission Member

    Cheryl Clyburn Crawford

  • Commission Member

    Joyce Sanchez

Speaker of the House Appointees

Three Commission members appointed by Speaker of the House Robert A DeLeo.

  • Commission Member

    Representative Carmine Gentile

  • Commission Member

    Scott McDermott

  • Commission Member

    Dominick Pangallo

Senate President Appointees

Three Commission members appointed by Senate President Karen E. Spilka

  • Commission Member

    Noval Alexander

  • Commission Member

    Jay Marsden

  • Co-Chairs

    Costas Panagopoulos

Upcoming Events from Citizens Commission (Created by 2018 Ballot Question 2)