More about:

About the Uniform Bar Exam

What you need to know about the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) and the Massachusetts Law Component (MLC).

The Supreme Judicial Court Rule 3:01 and the Rules of the Board of Bar Examiners have been amended and shall take effect on March 1, 2018.

Massachusetts will administer the UBE beginning with the July 2018 examination. 

All petitioners for admission to the bar in Massachusetts submitting a petition on or after March 1, 2018 will be required to complete the Massachusetts Law Component (MLC).

What you need to know about the UBE

Beginning March 1, 2018, you may petition for admission by Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) Transfer Score. 

Admission by Transfer of UBE Score:

  • The required passing score is 270.
  • You can submit a petition for admission by transfer beginning March 1, 2018.
  • The UBE score to be transferred must have been achieved from an exam no more  than 36 months prior to submitting your petition for admission. 
  • The Petition fee for admission by transfer is $815.00.
  • You may petition for admission by score transfer even if you have previously failed the bar exam in Massachusetts.
  • The processing time for admission by score transfer has not yet been determined.

Massachusetts will be administering the UBE beginning with the July 2018 exam.

Admission by Examination or Re-examination:

  • Beginning with the July 2018 exam, MA will be administer the UBE. 
  • The UBE is administered in July and February. The UBE is  administered twice each year on the last Wednesday and the immediately preceding Tuesday of each February and July.
  • The exam is comprised of the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Exam (MEE), and the Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) .  Please visit NCBE for details on the UBE components.
  • You must sit for the full UBE in MA or, if filing a concurrent petition in Massachusetts, you must sit for the full UBE in that jurisdiction and have that score transferred to MA.
  • You may apply for admission to Massachusetts but sit in another jurisdiction.  In this case, the petirioner will request that the score be reported to Massachusetts and the petitioner will move forward in the admission process only if a passing score of 270 or higher is achieved.  If the score does not meet the passing requirement, the case will be closed and the petitioner will have to submit a petition for re-examination.

    Additional Resources

    Learn about the Massachusetts Law Component

    Massachusetts Law Component (MLC):

    The MLC is a multiple choice test based on substantial outlines provided covering essential highlights and key distinctions of Massachusetts law and procedure.  The outlines will include summaries on the following areas:

    1. Access to Justice
    2. Anti-Discrimination Law
    3. Business Organizations
    4. Civil Procedure
    5. Consumer Protection, G.L. c. 93A
    6. Criminal Law and Procedure
    7. Domestic Relations
    8. Estates and Wills
    9. Evidence

      About the MLC:

      • If you file a petition for admission on or after March 1, 2018, you will be required to complete the MLC prior to becoming admitted to the bar in Massachusetts.
      • Once a petition for admission is filed, you will be sent an email with the link with instructions to download and review the MLC outlines. 
      • Once the outlines have been downloaded, you will receive a link for directions to access and complete the exam.
      • The MLC is an online, pass or fail exam.
      • The MLC is untimed and open-book.
      • There is no fee to take the MLC.
      • You can take the exam several times, but must pass to complete the requirement prior to admission.
      • Once you pass the exam,you will receive an email stating the online exam has been successfully completed and your access will be deactivated.

      Feedback

      Tell us what you think