Learn how to schedule a motion for hearing in the Land Court

Find out what the requirements for scheduling in the Land Court are.

I. Dispositive motions

Only non-dispositive motions may be marked by a party for hearing. Dispositive motions under Mass. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (1), 12 (b) (6), 12 (c) and 56 will be scheduled by the court in all cases. See Land Court Rule 4.

II. Non-dispositive motions

Non-dispositive motions may be marked for hearing before the assigned judge. See Land Court Rule 5. Parties and lawyers are strongly encouraged to confirm dates and times with other parties before marking non-dispositive motions for hearings.

Dates and times when non-dispositive motions may be marked for hearing before the following judges 

Piper, C.J. 10:00 a.m. Wednesday, November 6
Piper, C.J. 10:00 a.m. Thursday, November 14
Piper, C.J. 10:00 a.m. Wednesday, November 20
Speicher, J. 10:30 a.m. Thursday, November 21
Rubin, J. 11:00 a.m. Thursday, November 21
Speicher, J. 10:00 a.m. Wednesday, December 4
Piper, C.J. 10:00 a.m. Thursday, December 5
Rubin, J. 11:00 a.m. Friday, December 6
Rubin, J. 11:00 a.m. Tuesday, December 10
Piper, C.J. 2:15 p.m. Wednesday, December 11
Speicher, J. 10:30 a.m. Thursday, December 19

To mark a non-dispositive motion for hearing before a Land Court judge not listed above, contact the sessions clerk for the judge assigned to the case. You can find sessions clerk contact information at the Land Court contacts page.

III. Tax lien motions

All hearing sessions are held at the Land Court, 3 Pemberton Square, Boston. Courtroom assignments are posted at the Land Court Recorder’s Office (5th floor) on the day of the hearing.

Motions in all tax lien cases may be marked for hearing any Thursday at 10:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m. You can find forms for motions and notices of hearing at the Land Court forms page.

Feedback