Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health

Learn about the work of the Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health to improve local public health effectiveness and efficiency.

The Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health was established in August 2016 (Chapter 3 of the Resolves of 2016) to “assess the effectiveness and efficiency of municipal and regional public health systems and to make recommendations regarding how to strengthen the delivery of public health services and preventive measures”.

The Commission includes 8 appointees by the Governor, representatives of 9 named organizations including the Massachusetts Public Health Regionalization Working Group, each of the member organizations of the Coalition for Local Public Health, the Western Massachusetts Public Health Association, the Massachusetts Municipal Association, and the Massachusetts Taxpayers Foundation. Chaired by the Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, the Commission also includes representatives of 3 other Executive Branch agencies and 4 designees of legislative leadership.

Five subcommittees (Data, Standards, Structure, Workforce Credentials, and Finance) are charged with reviewing and making recommendations to the Commission.

In May 2018, the Commission released its Status Report to solicit public input through a series of listening sessions and a written comment period.

In September 2018, the Commission reviewed and approved a summary of the more than 50 stakeholder comments received on the Status Report.

Comments on the work of the Commission are welcome at any time at localregionalpublichealth@massmail.state.ma.us.


View agendas of meetings of the Commission and its subcommittees: Upcoming Meetings of the Special Commission for Local and Regional Public Health

Download a compilation of all meeting agendas and approved meeting minutes to date: SCLRPH Compiled Agendas and Minutes Jan 2019 (Doc)

Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health Members

 (Updated as of December 6, 2018)

Executive Branch Members

Department of Public Health Commissioner Monica Bharel
Executive Office of Administration and Finance Sean Cronin
Department of Environmental Protection C. Mark Smith
Department of Agricultural Resources Lorraine O’Connor

Appointments by the Governor

Research/Academic Institution Justeen Hyde
Community Health Center Maria Pelletier
Hospital System David McCready
Workforce Development Charles Kaniecki
Municipality >50,000 Sharon Cameron
Municipality 5,000-50,000 Pending
Public Health District (at least one town <5,000) Phoebe Walker
At Large Carmela Mancini

Appointments by Legislative Leadership

Senate President Senator Jason M. Lewis
Senate Minority Leader Senator Ryan Fattman
Speaker of the House Edward Cosgrove, designee of Representative Denise Garlick
House Minority Leader Representative Hannah Kane

Named Organizations

Massachusetts Municipal Association Kevin Mizikar
Massachusetts Taxpayers Foundation Eileen McAnneny
Massachusetts Public Health Association Bernard Sullivan
Massachusetts Health Officers Association Sam Wong
Massachusetts Association of Health Boards Cheryl Sbarra
Massachusetts Environmental Health Association Steve Ward
Massachusetts Association of Public Health Nurses Terri Khoury
Western Massachusetts Public Health Association Laura Kittross
Massachusetts Public Health Regionalization Working Group Harold Cox