Log in links for this page
- This page, Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit, is offered by
- Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles
Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
Contact for Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
Registry of Motor Vehicles
The Details of Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
What you need for Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
Effective June 10th, the passenger and motorcycle (Class D & M) learners’ permit knowledge exam will be available to take online and that dedicated Permit-Only Appointment Hours will be available at select Service Center locations, after the process was suspended in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Appointments for new learners’ permits will be initially restricted to individuals who turned 16 in March and April, then May 2020. Review these FAQs for more information.
To get a motorcycle (Class M) learner's permit you must:
- Decide what type of permit you want – a REAL ID Massachusetts permit (valid for federal purposes) or Standard Massachusetts permit (not valid for federal purposes).
- Documents you'll need:
- Lawful presence (1 document)
- If your name differs on the lawful presence document, you must also provide proof of the legal name change
- Social Security number (1 document)
- Massachusetts residency (1 document for a Standard permit, 2 for a REAL ID permit)
- Lawful presence (1 document)
- Documents you'll need:
- Start your application online
- Bring your required identification and completed application to an RMV Service Center
In addition, you must:
- Be at least 16
- Be a resident of Massachusetts.
- Not hold a driver's license or learner's permit in any other state.
- Be clear of outstanding obligations to any state.
- Meet minimum Class D or Class M driver's license medical standards
You must be at least 16 year of age to apply for a learner's permit. If you are under 18 years of age, you must obtain the written consent of a parent, legal guardian, Department of Children and Families, or boarding school headmaster. Written consent must be given by signing the Class D, M, or D/M license and ID card application. If the person giving consent is NOT a parent, proper documentation of authority must be shown at the time of the written test. You will also be subject to certain restrictions until you turn 18.
Learner's permit exam
You will be given 25 minutes to complete the exam. The exam consists of 25 questions. You must answer 18 questions correctly in order to pass. The exam will consist of questions on rules of the road, consequences of driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol, the Junior Operator Law, sharing the road with the visually impaired, and sharing the road with bicyclists and pedestrians. Study the Motorcycle Manual to prepare for the exam.
Class D or M learner's permit exams are available in 34 languages.
Fees for Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
|Learner's Permit Application Fee||$30||each|
How to apply Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
Individuals seeking a passenger or motorcycle (Class D & M) learner’s permit will be required to start their application online and make an appointment to visit a Service Center to provide required identification documentation. Once an application and documents have been processed and verified at a Service Center, customers will be given login instructions and credentials to complete their test online at home.
You must make an appointment to visit a Service Center.
Bring all required documents, fees, and the completed application to one of the open RMV Service Centers. At the time of your learner’s permit exam application, you must also pass a vision screening for field vision and basic colors.
You can pay by cash, check, money order, credit card, and debit card. Since payment methods vary by location, check what’s accepted at the site you will be visiting.
More info for Apply for a motorcycle (Class M) learner’s permit
Alternative exam options
If you have a cognitive or physical disability that would prevent you from taking a standard learner’s permit exam through ATS, you may request an alternative extended time, paper, or oral exam. To request an extended time or paper exam, you must speak to the service center manager when you visit the service center. To request an oral exam, please call (857) 368-8105 and leave a message that includes your name, your telephone number, the specifics of your request, and the RMV Service Center where you would like to take your oral exam. You will then be contacted by a registry employee who will help you schedule an exam.
Oral exams are only available in English.
For oral exams, you must provide the service center manager with written documentation that confirms the nature of your disability. This documentation may be a doctor's or social worker's letter, an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), or a letter from a school on official letterhead. You will also need to provide all of the required identification documents.
An oral exam will only be provided if it has been scheduled in advance by calling the number above. Extended time and paper exams do not need to be scheduled in advance.
Road test or MREP
After you obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit, you must take and pass a Class M road test or complete the Motorcycle Rider Education Program (MREP) course to obtain a motorcycle license. If under 18, you must take the MREP course and complete all junior operator requirements to get a license.
Permits are valid for 2 years or the length of your stay in the U.S. If your permit expires, you'll need to reapply and retake the exam.