Change your address with the RMV

If you change your address, you need to inform the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) about the change within 30 days.
You must inform the RMV of any address change within 30 days.

Contact

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Phone

From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts

From all other Massachusetts area codes

For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)

The Details

What you need

The RMV keeps a record of both your residential address (the number and street where you live) and your mailing address (the address where you receive mail). You are required by law to notify the RMV within 30 days of changing your address.

How to update

The easiest and quickest way to change your address is online. You will need to provide your:

  • Driver’s license or Massachusetts ID card number
  • Last 4 digits of your Social Security number
  • Email address

 

You may call the RMV's Contact Center to change your address. 

(857) 368-8000 
From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts

(800) 858-3926
From all other Massachusetts area codes

TTY: (877) 768-8833
For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)

You will need to provide your:

  • Name
  • Current address
  • Driver’s license or Massachusetts ID card number
  • Last 4 digits of your Social Security number

 

More info

If you want a replacement driver’s license, ID card, or registration that shows your new address, you may request a duplicate. The easiest way to get a duplicate is online. The RMV Schedule of Fees shows the cost of each duplicate document.

If you don’t order a replacement driver's license, ID card, or vehicle registration, you should update your existing documents to show your new address.

  • Add your new address to the back of your driver's license or ID card in the designated area with permanent ink.
  • On your vehicle registration, use an address label or similar sticker to cover your old address and write in your new address.

Registered vehicles

If you have vehicles registered, you should:

  • notify your insurance agent or company of your address change
  • contact your previous town assessor to find out if you are eligible for an abatement on your excise tax bill

Voter registration

When you change your residential address, that information is sent to the Secretary of State and your city or town so your voter registration address can be updated. If you do not want to update your voter registration, you must specify that when you make your address change request.

Contact

Phone

From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts

From all other Massachusetts area codes

For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)

Feedback

Tell us what you think