Medical Services Committee

We advise on clinical issues and update protocols for Emergency Medical Services (EMS). We work with the Emergency Medical Care Advisory Board (EMCAB) and the Department of Public Health (DPH).

Contact Us


67 Forest Street, Marlborough, MA 01752

About Us

Visit the Past Medical Services Committee events page to access agendas and minutes from past Medical Services Committee meetings. Click on individual meeting titles to access the materials from that meeting.

Our committee advises EMCAB and DPH on the clinical issues in EMS as well as the updates needed to the Statewide Treatment Protocols for EMS. The Statewide Treatment Protocols set the scope of practice and the standard of care for EMS personnel at all levels.

We also review and make recommendations for Department approval of special projects and to pilot new EMS clinical practices.

Committee members

  • DPH, State EMS Medical Director

    Jon Burstein, MD

  • Region I Medical Director

    Gerald “Wook” Beltran, DO

  • Lawrence General Hospital Paramedic Service

    Paul Brennan

  • Boston MedFlight

    Jason Cohen

  • Boston EMS

    Sophia Dyer, MD

  • Region V Executive Director

    David Faunce

  • Amherst Fire Department

    Stephen Gaughan

  • Norwood Hospital

    Andrew Geller, MD

  • Boston Medical Center

    Sarita Chung, MD

  • Region V Medical Director

    Andrew Old, MD

  • Region II Medical Director

    Ira Nemeth, MD

  • UMass Memorial/Marlborough Hospital

    Joseph Tennyson, MD

  • Region IV Medical Director

    William Tollefsen, MD

  • Region III Medical Director

    Alec Walker, MD

  • Emerson Hospital

    Gert Walter, MD

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events scheduled

What would you like to do?

Image credits:  Shutterstock

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.