Emergency Medical Care Advisory Board (EMCAB)

EMCAB advises the Department of Public Health on Emergency Medical Services (EMS) issues.

Contact Us

About us

Visit the Past EMCAB events page to access agendas, presentations, and minutes from past EMCAB meetings. Click on individual meeting titles to access the materials from that meeting.

There are several committees that act in an advisory capacity to EMCAB, including:

Board members

  • Massachusetts Medical Society

    Bruce Auerbach, MD

  • Region I Medical Director

    Gerald “Wook” Beltran, DO

  • Massachusetts Nurses Association

    William Benevelli

  • Massachusetts Hospital-Operated Paramedic Services

    Paul Brennan

  • Region III EMS Council

    Jonathan Brickett

  • Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons

    Peter Burke, MD

  • DPH, State EMS Medical Director

    Jon Burstein, MD

  • Highway Safety Division

    Brook Chipman

  • Region I EMS Council

    Deborah Clapp

  • Region IV EMS Council

    Derrick Congdon

  • Registrar of Motor Vehicles

    Erin C. Devaney

  • Consumer

    Alex Dubois

  • Consumer

    Jan Mutchler

  • Region V EMS Council

    David Faunce

  • Massachusetts Hospital Association

    Erin Liang

  • American Heart Association

    Jon Gorman

  • Fire Chiefs of Massachusetts

    Christopher Norris

  • Expert, EMS for children

    Sarita Chung, MD

  • Professional Fire Fighters of Massachusetts

    Thomas Henderson

  • Volunteer ambulance services

    Gary Huntress

  • Massachusetts Police Chiefs Association

    Mary Lyons

  • Massachusetts Police Association

    James Machado

  • Massachusetts Call/Volunteer Fire Fighters Association

    Joseph Maruca

  • Region II EMS Council

    Edward McNamara

  • Massachusetts Association of Health Plans

    Liz (Fluet) Murphy

  • Regional V Medical Director

    Andrew Old, MD

  • Designee of Commissioner of Public Safety

    Peter Ostroskey

  • Attorney

    Ezra Reinstein

  • Region II Medical Director

    Marc Restuccia, MD

  • Consumer

    Sue Rushfirth

  • American Red Cross

    John Santoro, MD

  • Massachusetts Association of EMTs

    Jim Slattery

  • Massachusetts Emergency Nurses Association

    Kathleen Shubitowski

  • American College of Emergency Physicians, Massachusetts Chapter

    Joseph Tennyson, MD

  • Region IV Medical Director

    William Tollefsen, MD

  • Massachusetts Ambulance Association

    Sean Tyler, MBA, MS

  • International Association of EMTs and Paramedics

    Bryan Urato

  • Region III Medical Director

    Alec Walker, MD

  • State 911 Department

    Monna Wallace

  • Massachusetts Council of Community Hospitals


Upcoming Events from Emergency Medical Care Advisory Board

What would you like to do?

Top actions & services

Image credits:  Shutterstock