Ocean Advisory Commission

Find an overview of this commission charged with assisting the Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs with ocean plan development.

The Oceans Act of 2008 charged the Ocean Advisory Commission (OAC) with assisting the Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs in developing the ocean management plan by holding public meetings and making recommendations for the proper management and development of the plan. As directed by the Oceans Act, this 17-member commission includes legislators, agency heads, representatives from a commercial fishing organization and an environmental organization, an expert in offshore renewable energy, and representatives from the coastal Regional Planning Agencies. The OAC provides important advice and guidance on reviewing and amending the plan, ongoing implementation, and related ocean management issues.

OAC Members


  • Senator Bruce Tarr
  • Senator Joseph Boncore
  • Senator Julian Cyr
  • Representative Mathew Muratore
  • Representative Joan Meschino
  • Representative Frank Smizik

Agency Representatives

  • Bruce Carlisle, Director, Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management
  • David Pierce, Director, Division of Marine Fisheries, Massachusetts Department of Fish and Game
  • Martin Suuberg, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection

Stakeholder Representatives

  • Beth Casoni, Massachusetts Lobstermen's Association
  • Joseph Cosgrove, Merrimack Valley Planning Council
  • Aileen Kenney, Deepwater Wind, LLC
  • Heather McElroy, Cape Cod Commission
  • JoAnn Taylor, Martha's Vineyard Commission
  • Andrew Vorce, Nantucket Planning & Economic Development Commission
  • Cynthia Wigren, Atlantic White Shark Conservancy
  • Vacant, Metropolitan Area Planning Council
  • James Whitin, Westport Planning Board (pending)


Tell us what you think