The State Organization Index provides an alphabetical listing of government organizations, including commissions, departments, and bureaus.
Top-requested sites to log in to services provided by the state
First, determine if you have an eligible claim under the Massachusetts Consumer Protection Law by learning about consumer protection for buyers.
Next, before you can sue in court, you must send a detailed 30 day demand letter that lets the business know of your complaint.
Once you have sent the 30 day demand letter and have tried to fix the problem with the business and failed, you have two major options:
In this process, an outside person who is not on the side of you or the business will help you and the business reach a solution you both find acceptable. Mediation is voluntary. Both you and the business must want to do this.
Suing in court – eligibility:
You may also sue the business through the court system. You can only sue if:
You may want to get legal advice if you are going to court. You can find information on hiring a lawyer.
To initiate a civil case in the Trial Court, you must:
The filing fee will vary depending on the court department in which you file your complaint. Everyone who files a civil complaint must follow the Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure (and other court department rules and standing orders); these can be complicated and confusing.
However, if the claim is for $7000 or less, a person can file a form called a “Statement of Claim and Notice” (rather than a complaint) in the Small Claims department of the District Court, Boston Municipal Court, or Housing Court, where the court procedures are simpler and easier to follow.
Once a complaint (or Statement of Claim) is filed, it must be “served” on the other party who will then have an opportunity to file an answer, raise defenses, and file counterclaims. (For a description of steps involved in filing a case, see Represent Yourself in Court; see also Small Claims Information for additional information on filing a small claims case in the District Court.)
In civil cases other than a small claims case, after the answer is filed, the court will set case management deadlines for the filing of discovery and other motions and set dates for a pretrial conference and a trial. The Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure and other court department rules and standing orders govern the process by which a court manages a case.
In general, a court may award you $25 or the amount of money you can prove you lost. However, there may be some important exceptions to note: