This page, Trial Court legal holidays, is part of
This page, Trial Court legal holidays, is offered by

Trial Court legal holidays

A list of legal holidays that are observed in the Trial Court.

Pursuant to G.L. c. 4, s. 7, below is a list of the Commonwealth’s legal holidays and the days they will be observed:

Holiday 2020 2021 2022
New Year's Day January 1 (Wednesday) January 1 (Friday) January 1 (Saturday)*
Martin Luther King Day January 20 (Monday) January 18 (Monday) January 17 (Monday)
President's Day February 17 (Monday) February 15 (Monday) February 21 (Monday)
Patriots' Day April 20 (Monday) April 19 (Monday) April 18 (Monday)
Memorial Day May 25 (Monday) May 31 (Monday) May 30 (Monday)
Juneteenth N/A June 19 (Saturday)* June 19 (Sunday)**
Independence Day July 4 (Saturday)* July 4 (Sunday)** July 4 (Monday)
Labor Day September 7 (Monday) September 6 (Monday) September 5 (Monday)
Columbus Day October 12 (Monday) October 11 (Monday) October 10 (Monday)
Veterans' Day November 11 (Wednesday) November 11 (Thursday) November 11 (Friday)
Thanksgiving Day November 26 (Thursday) November 25 (Thursday) November 24 (Thursday)
Christmas Day December 25 (Friday) December 25 (Saturday)* December 25 (Sunday)**

All court offices will remain open for business on March 17 and June 17.

* If a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, all offices under the jurisdiction of any department of state government will be open to the public for business on the Friday immediately before any Saturday holiday. Employees are entitled to a day off with pay, within 12 months following the holiday, to be taken at a time approved by their immediate manager.

** If a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the following Monday.

Feedback