Renew your nursing license
Contact for Renew your nursing license
Board of Registration in Nursing
The Details of Renew your nursing license
What you need for Renew your nursing license
To renew your registered nursing (RN), advanced practice registered nursing (APRN), or licensed practical nurse license, you must attest, under penalty of perjury, to comply with:
- Board laws and regulations, including completion of 15 contact hours of continuing education for the current registration period
- Good Moral Character, as defined by state law
- Mandatory abuse reporting laws, including the reporting of abuse or neglect of children (Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 119, Section 51A)
- Prescriber training requirements according to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 94C, Section18(e)
Before APRN renewal
To renew an APRN authorization to practice, you must hold a current MA RN license and have a current certification from a Board recognized national professional organization. Refer to 244 CMR 9.04(4) and 244 CMR 4.05.
Because they are connected, APRNs renew their Board authorization to practice as an APRN at the same time they renew their RN license. If, for any reason, you don't intend to renew your APRN authorization, you must complete a Request to remove APRN authorization. Allow 14 days for processing time. Be sure to complete this process before to renewing to avoid paying for APRN authorization because once payment is made, it is non-refundable. Expired APRN does not affect your RN status.
Mandatory Enrollment in MassHealth for all APRNs, Without Exception
Mandatory Enrollment in MassHealth
Whether you bill MassHealth or not, you still need to enroll as a fully participating provider or as a nonbilling provider. You will be asked to provide your individual National Provider Identifier (NPI) when enrolling.
MGL c. 112, § 80B was amended to include mandatory enrollment in MassHealth for ALL APRNs for the limited purposes of ordering and referring services covered under this program. The mandate includes all certified nurse practitioners (CNPs), psychiatric clinical nurse specialists (PCNSs), clinical nurse specialists (CNSs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) and certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) without exception. The amendment does not require APRNs to include MassHealth patients in their patient panels. Contact MassHealth if you have any questions.
When can I begin practicing?
You cannot practice with an expired license.
Once your online renewal process is complete, it is immediately processed and is available for verification at Check a License.
The Board no longer prints or mails paper licenses.
The Check a License feature is the most accurate verification of your license and is available 24/7 for you or your employer. See information on Primary Source Verification.
Fees for Renew your nursing license
|RN or LN license renewal||$120||per renewal|
|RN with APRN renewal||$180||per renewal|
How to renew Renew your nursing license
Renew online up to 90 days before expiration.
Paper renewal forms are available only by request at firstname.lastname@example.org.
When completed, this application can be mailed to:
Mass Department of Public Health
Division of Health Professions Licensure
Post Office Box 414394
Boston, MA 02241-4394
Please do not send as certified mail. It will not be accepted at the Post Office and will cause significant delays.
More info for Renew your nursing license
For help in the renewal process, call the Help Desk at (617) 973-0935.
The following additional fees apply to all Boards of Registrations:
|Late Renewal Fee||
per license renewal
Certified Statement of Registration
Handling Charge for Returned Checks
Additionally, for more information, please see: