Log in links for this page
Request a crash report
Contact for Request a crash report
Registry of Motor Vehicles
The Details of Request a crash report
What you need for Request a crash report
Anyone can request a crash report as long as the required information can be provided.
If a vehicle crash occurred in Massachusetts and has been filed and processed by the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), you can request either a standard or a certified copy of the police crash report. Please wait at least 4 weeks after the crash before requesting a report.
You will need to pay a fee for the crash report. The fee is non-refundable even if a report is not found.
Fees for Request a crash report
|Crash Report Search Fee||$20||each|
How to request Request a crash report
This transaction is currently unavailable. The Registry of Motor Vehicles is making required changes to our data sharing policy and access to the RMV system to comply with the new law that went into effect July 1, 2023. Given that, we are pausing some transaction access, until further notice. For reference, visit Chapter 81 of the Acts of 2022.
If you need a copy of the police version of your crash report, please contact the city’s/town’s Police Department or Massachusetts State Police Barracks where the crash occurred to obtain a copy of the crash report.
More info for Request a crash report
Only crash reports filed by state or local Massachusetts police agencies are available to request. Please allow 4 weeks for the RMV to process your request. If a report is not found, the RMV will continue to search for 90 days from the date of the crash.