This page, Regional Coordinating Councils for community transportation, is part of
This page, Regional Coordinating Councils for community transportation, is offered by

Regional Coordinating Councils for community transportation

Voluntary coalitions of transportation providers, planners, human service providers, and advocates collaborate to identify and address regional transportation needs.

Table of Contents

What is a Regional Coordinating Council (RCC)?

Regional Coordinating Councils (RCCs) on community transportation are voluntary coalitions where representatives of human service agencies, state agencies, transit authorities, regional planning agencies, consumers, advocates, and other stakeholders can convene to discuss the transportation needs of area older adults, people with disabilities, and low-income commuters, and to brainstorm ways to collaborate on solutions. Each RCC is different and reflects local priorities. Regional boundaries are not rigid, and towns may choose to participate in more than one RCC.

History of RCCs in Massachusetts

RCCs were a key recommendation of the 2012 Final Report of the Community, Social Service, and Paratransit Transportation Commission. This Commission stemmed from Executive Order 530, which was issued in 2011 and asked state agencies to work together to identify ways to improve the quality and efficiency of paratransit and community transportation services. MassDOT's Rail and Transit Division partnered with the EOHHS MassMobility initiative to collaborate with champions in regions across the state to launch RCCs starting in December 2013. Wherever possible, RCCs were built on previous coordination efforts.

RCC activities and accomplishments

RCCs foster information-sharing and collaboration by offering an opportunity for human service agencies, transportation providers, and advocates to come together to share information and build relationships. In addition, many RCCs have worked together on short-term projects, and a few have undertaken longer-term initiatives. Examples of these projects include:

  • Needs Assessment and Transportation Inventories: Many RCCs started off with surveys of local stakeholders to determine priorities. A common finding was that agencies and consumers lacked information about transportation services. As a result, many RCCs worked on developing inventories of local transportation services or adding regional services into Ride Match. For Cape Cod, the results of an RCC needs assessment led the transit authority to partner with the Cape Cod Commission on a bus stop study.
  • Promoting Fixed-Route Services: Recognizing the value of public transit, RCCs have partnered with their Regional Transit Authorities to promote use of the fixed-route bus. RCCs have worked on developing travel instruction programs in regions that do not have an established travel trainer. RCCs have also planned public awareness events, such as Ride the Bus with the Mayor in Greenfield.
  • Partnering with Healthcare: In order to address the needs of older adults and others to access transportation to their healthcare appointments, RCCs have partnered with healthcare providers to increase awareness of existing options and collaborate to improve connections through forums and trainings.
  • Operating Transportation Services: RCCs have also collaborated to plan, fund, and implement additional services or pilot programs including the Hilltown Easy Ride and the Quaboag Connector.

Map of RCCs

Map showing regions delineated: Berkshire County, Franklin County, western Hampden & Hampshire Counties, Pioneer Valley, North Central, Quaboag Valley (western part of Central MA), Central MA, Acton area, Merrimack Valley, North Shore, MetroWest, Brockton Area, Southeastern Mass, Neponset Valley (Dedham area), Cape and Islands, Blue Hills (Quincy area), Boston Core, Boston North, Western suburbs of Boston

Map of RCCs across Massachusetts

Contact your RCC

Contact your local RCC chair or co-chair to get involved in community transportation efforts in your region.

Region Contact information

Berkshire County

Berkshire RCC on Transportation (BRRCOT)

Anuja Koirala
Berkshire Regional Planning Commission
akoirala@berkshireplanning.org

Sarah Vallieres
Berkshire Regional Transit Authority
sarah.vallieres@berkshirerta.com

Blue Hills RCC (Greater Quincy)

www.bluehillsrcc.org

Kym Williams
Blue Hills Community Health Alliance (CHNA 20)
kwilliams@baystatecs.org

Ashley Stockwell
Blue Hills Community Health Alliance (CHNA 20)
astockwell@baystatecs.org

Boston Core RCC (Boston and Brookline)

David Hoff
Institute for Community Inclusion
david.hoff@umb.edu
617-287-4308

Maria Foster
Transportation, Resources, Information, Planning & Partnership for Seniors (TRIPPS)
maria@trippsmass.org
mfoster@brooklinema.gov
617-651-2652

Boston North RCC TBD
Brockton RCC Michael J. Lambert
Brockton Area Transit Authority
mlambert@ridebat.com
Cape and Islands RCC Chris Kennedy
Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority
ckennedy@capecodrta.org
508-775-8504 ext. 208
Central Mass RCC Connie Mellis
Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission
cmellis@cmrpc.org
508-459-3328

Franklin County RCC

(meets as part of the FRTA Transit Advisory Committee)

Michael Perreault
Franklin Regional Transit Authority
michael@frta.org
413-774-2262 ext. 105
Greater North Shore RCC Mark Whitmore
North Shore Career Center
978-825-7200

Valerie Parker Callahan
Greater Lynn Senior Services
vparkercallahan@glss.net
781-586-8698

Hilltown RCC (rural western Hampden & Hampshire Counties)

www.hilltowncdc.org/transportation

Kate Bavelock
Hiltown Community Development Corporation
kateb@hilltowncdc.org
413-296-4536
Inner West RCC (Greater Lexington area) Susan Barrett
Town of Lexington
sbarrett@lexingtonma.gov
781-698-4821
Merrimack Valley RCC Betsy Goodrich
Merrimack Valley Planning Commission
bgoodrich@mvpc.org
978-374-0519
MetroWest RCC TBD
MinuteMan RCC (Greater Acton area) Austin J. Cyganiewicz
Town of Acton
acyganiewicz@acton-ma.gov

Franny Osman
Transportation Advocate
frannyola@gmail.com

Neponset Valley RCC (Sharon/Dedham/Norwood area)

www.neponsetvalleytma.org/neponset-valley-regional-coordinating-council

Karen Dumaine
TransAction Associates, Inc.
kdumaine@transactionassoc.com

Sheryl Leary
HESSCO
sleary@hessco.org
781-784-4944
North Central RCC Bonnie Mahoney
MART
bonnie.mahoney@mrta.us
Pioneer Valley RCC Jennifer Lee
Stavros
jlee@stavros.org
Quaboag Valley RCC Jen Healy
Quaboag Valley Community Development Corporation
jenh@qvcdc.org 

South East RCC on Transportation (SERCCOT)

www.gatra.org/serccot-meetings

Angie Constantino
GATRA
aconstantino@gatra.org

 

Contact

Online

Email MassMobility hstmobility@state.ma.us
Visit our website MassMobility 
Feedback