Basic Hunter Education course offerings

Mandatory course for all first-time hunters

Who needs Basic Hunter Education? By state law, anyone 18 years of age or older, who wishes to purchase a Massachusetts hunting or sporting license must either have a government issued Basic Hunter Education certificate from any jurisdiction or a hunting license from any jurisdiction in North America prior to 2007.

Course Format

Currently, students can attend either a traditional classroom course which typically includes 15 hours of classroom instruction —OR— a 2-day independent study course which typically includes 9 hours of classroom instruction combined with homestudy hours. 

Upon successful completion of the Massachusetts Basic Hunter Education course, graduates are mailed a certificate of completion recognized in all U.S. states, Canada, and Mexico.

Basic Hunter Education course schedule

To enroll in a course, call (508) 389-7830
8 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday through Friday

 

WESTBOROUGH: 2 session traditional course
Class sessions meet December 26th & December 28th

Location Required Dates Status
MassWildlife Field HQ
1 Rabbit Hill Road
Westborough, MA 01581
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Tue, Dec 26: 8am–4pm
Thu, Dec 28: 8am–4pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

PALMER: 2 session traditional course
Class sessions meet January 7th & January 14th

Location Required Dates Status

Nenameseck Sportsmen's Club
75 West Ware Road
Palmer, MA 01069
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Sun, Jan 7: 8am–4pm
Sun, Jan 14: 8am–4pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

WESTBOROUGH: 2 session course with Independent Study
Class sessions meet January 10th & January 21st

Completion of Independent Study portion required 

Location Required Dates Status
MassWildlife Field HQ
1 Rabbit Hill Road
Westborough, MA 01581
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Wed, Jan 10: 6pm–9pm
Sun, Jan 21: 8am–2pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

YARMOUTH PORT: 2 session course with Independent Study
Class sessions meet January 9th & January 27th

Completion of Independent Study portion required

Location Required Dates Status

Bass River Rod and Gun Club
620 Route 6A
Yarmouth Port, MA 02675
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Tue, Jan 9: 6pm–9:30pm
Sat, Jan 27: 8am–4:30pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

BARRE: 3 session traditional course
Class sessions meet January 10th, January 20th, & January 21st

Location Required Dates Status

Barre Sportsmens Club
221 Spring Hill Road
Barre, MA 01005
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Wed, Jan 10: 6pm–9pm
Sat, Jan 20: 8am–3pm
Sun, Jan 21: 8am–3pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

SOUTHWICK: 2 session traditional course
Class sessions meet January 13th & January 14th

Location Required Dates Status

American Legion Post 338
46 Powder Mill Road
Southwick, MA 01077
Get Directions

Sat, Jan 13: 8am–4:30pm
Sun, Jan 14: 8am–4:30pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

MILTON: 2 session course with Independent Study
Class sessions meet January 18th & January 28th

Completion of Independent Study portion required

Location Required Dates Status
New England Base Camp
411 Unquity Road
Milton, MA 02186
Get Directions

Thu, Jan 18: 6pm–9pm
Sun, Jan 28: 8am–2pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

HARVARD: 2 session course with Independent Study
Class sessions meet January 29th & February 11th

Completion of Independent Study portion required

Location Required Dates Status

Harvard Sportsmens Club
250 Littleton County Road
Harvard, MA 01451
Get Directions

Mon, Jan 29: 6pm–9:30pm
Sun, Feb 11: 8am–2pm

Course is full-
Enrollment is CLOSED

 

HYANNIS: 6 session traditional course
Class sessions meet January 30, 31, February 1, 6, 7, & 8

Location Required Dates Status

Cape Gun Works
96 Airport Road
Hyannis, MA 02601
Get Directions

Tue-Wed-Thu evenings
January 30: 6pm–9pm
January 31: 6pm–9pm
February 1: 6pm–9pm
February 6: 6pm–9pm
February 7: 6pm–9pm
February 8: 6pm–9pm

To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

 

SUDBURY: 2 session course with Independent Study
Class sessions meet January 31st & February 10th

Completion of Independent Study portion required

Location Required Dates Status

Assabet River National Wildlife Refuge
Visitor Center**

680 Hudson Road
Sudbury, MA 01776
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Wed, Jan 31: 6pm–9pm
Sat, Feb 10: 10am–4pm

To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

**Once on the refuge, the road is named Winterberry Way and the Visitor Center will be about half a mile from the main entrance.

 

SOUTH ROYALSTON: 3 session traditional course
Class sessions meet January 31st, February 10th, & February 11th

Location Required Dates Status

Royalston Fish and Game Club
Baldwinville Road @ Main Road (Rte 68)
South Royalston, MA 01374
Get Directions

Wed, Jan 31: 6:30pm–9pm
Sat, Feb 10: 8am–3pm
Sun, Feb 11: 8am–3pm

To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

 

CHICOPEE: 2 session traditional course
Class sessions meet February 3rd & February 10th

Location Required Dates Status

Charles C. Kennedy
American Legion Post 275

41 Robbins Road
Chicopee, MA 01020
Get Directions

Sat, Feb 3: 8am–4pm
Sat, Feb 10: 8am–4pm

Waitlist space may
be available-
Call (508) 389-7830

 

PLYMPTON: 4 session traditional course
Class sessions meet February 5th, 8th, 12th, & 15th

Location Required Dates Status

The Upland Sportsman's Club
67 Upland Road
Plympton, MA 02367
Get Directions

Mon, Feb 5: 6pm–9:30pm 
Thu, Feb 8: 6pm–9:30pm
Mon, Feb 12: 6pm–9:30pm
Thu, Feb 15: 6pm–9:30pm

Waitlist space may
be available-
Call (508) 389-7830

 

BEDFORD: 6 session traditional course
Class sessions meet February 6th, 13th, 20th, 27th, March 6th, & 13th

Location Required Dates Status

Woburn Sportsmen's Association
155 Middlesex Turnpike
Bedford, MA 01730
Get Directions
Handicapped accessible

Tuesday evenings
Feb 6: 7pm–9:30pm
Feb 13: 7pm–9:30pm
Feb 20: 7pm–9:30pm
Feb 27: 7pm–9:30pm
Mar 6: 7pm–9:30pm
Mar 13: 7pm–9:30pm

To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

What should students bring to class?

There is no charge for the Basic Hunter Education course and all required materials are provided at no cost to the student.

Unaccompanied minor students (17 years of age or younger) must bring a signed permission form to the first session of class in order to participate. 

Lunch break: Not all of the facilities courses are held at have food or water available to purchase. Students may want to bring a bagged lunch and water/reusable bottle to full day sessions.

When and where are course held?

MassWildlife's Hunter Education program offers the Basic Hunter Education course 90-120 times a year, statewide and year-round with the majority of the courses offered before hunting season begins (January through early October). 

New course listings will be posted as they are approved and opened for enrollment.
Courses fill quickly! Do not wait until the last minute to enroll in a course.  

Course notifications

If you are unable to find a course that meets your needs, sign up for course notifications

Feedback

Tell us what you think